The Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media 2022 Girls Lacrosse All-Area Teams

A perfect 24-0 season and a second-straight PIAA-2A championship earned Archbishop Carroll plenty of representation on the 2022 The Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media Girls Lacrosse first team.

The Patriots led the area with three selections to the first team headed by Athlete of the Year Kiley Mottice. The North Carolina commit and USA Lacrosse Eastern Pennsylvania All-American paced Carroll in goals (63), assists (38) and points (101) this season.

Joining Mottice on the first team are teammates senior Emma Talago and junior Ava Bleckley. Talago, a Loyola (Md.) commit, finished with 37 goals and 29 assists for 66 points while Bleckley, verbally committed to James Madison had 52 points on 41 goals and 11 assists, 69 draw controls, 23 caused turnovers and collected 29 ground balls.

Methacton and Wissahickon both had a pair of first-team picks.

Warriors senior goalkeeper Mackenzie Clark earned USA Lacrosse All-American honors for Eastern Pa. while junior Megan Sanelli scored 88 goals and handed out 19 assists as Methacton won the PAC title and reached the District 1-3A quarterfinals.

Seniors Emma Baker, a Towson commit and Lexi Hobson, who collected 47 assists, helped Wissahickon win a second straight Suburban One League American Conference title.

Upper Dublin’s Aditi Foster and Plymouth Whitemarsh’s Bri Austin were also standouts in the SOL American. Foster finished a superb sophomore campaign with 112 points on 79 goals and 33 assists. Austin, a Bloomsburg commit, capped her career with the Colonials with 78 goals, 13 assists and 35 draw controls.

Mount St. Joseph’s Lauren Maher was named the AACA MVP, the Manhattan College commit helping the Magic qualify for states for the second straight year, this season advancing to the Class 2A quarters.

Senior Emily Varilla was a crucial piece to North Penn’s SOL National Conference title, the La Salle commit collecting 40 goals, 29 assists and 65 draw controls for a Knights team that went 15-4.

Pennridge senior Maddy Edinger, a West Chester commit, was an All-SOL National first-team pick as the Rams tied for second in the conference and won their District 1-3A tournament opener.


Player of the Year: Kiley Motice, Sr., Attack, Archbishop Carroll.

Bri Austin, Sr., Midfield, Plymouth Whitemarsh
Emma Baker, Sr., Midfield, Wissahickon
Ava Bleckley, Jr., Midfield, Archbishop Carroll
Maddy Edinger, Sr., Midfield, Pennridge
Aditi Foster, So., Attack, Upper Dublin
Lauren Maher, Sr., Attack, Mount St. Joseph
Kiley Mottice, Sr., Attack/Midfield, Archbishop Carroll
Megan Sanelli, Jr., Midfield, Methacton
Lexi Hobson, Sr., Midfield, Wissahickon
Emma Talago, Sr., Attack, Archbishop Carroll
Emily Varilla, Sr., Midfield/Defense, North Penn
Mackenzie Clark, Sr., Goalkeeper, Methacton

Becca Clark, Sr., Attack/Midfield, Academy New Church
Kate Donovan, Jr., Midfield/Defense, Mount St. Joseph
Izzy Fiore, Sr., Attack, Gwynedd Mercy
Lauren Hallman, Sr., Midfield, Souderton
Machaela Henry, Jr., Midfield, Archbishop Carroll
Katie Karoly, Sr., Defense, Archbishop Carroll
Alexa McCabe, Fr., Attack, Wissahickon
Ally Muller, Sr., Midfield/Defense, Abington Friends
Emily Simpson, Jr., Midfield, Lansdale Catholic
Kayla Stressman, Jr., Attack, North Penn
Jayme Weber, Sr., Attack, Methacton
Annie Shields, Jr., Goalkeeper, Mount St. Joseph

Abington: Mei Mei Cheng, Joclyn Pollock.
Abington Friends: Maya Muller, Bella Washington-Vasquez.
Academy New Church: Emma Bryntesson, Xola Wade.
Archbishop Carroll: Chloe Bleckley, Bridget Robinson (GK), Ella Wright.
Archbishop Wood: Megan Hickey, Madysin Woertz, Anna Waltrich (GK).
Central Bucks West: Grace Naylor.
Cheltenham: Abigail Leighton.
Dock Mennonite: Kenzie Derstine, Emma Kratz, Abby Mellinger, Katherine Wenzel.
Germantown Academy: Emma Goodwin, Mia Raven.
Gwynedd Mercy: Alana Mandato, Sydney Mandato, Ellie Verrill.
Hatboro-Horsham: Sophia Liott, Lydia Nolin, Abby Roesing.
Lansdale Catholic: Grace Marchese.
Jenkintown: Sarah Cummings, Liv Spoerl, Kaelin DiMaria, Katie McGrath, Karolyn Mitchell (GK), Mia Visomirski.
Methacton: Lily DeWan, Ruby Murray, Delaney Smith, Michelle Zhai.
Mount St. Joseph: Campbell Donovan, Maggie Rezza.
Norristown: An-Nisa Kim, Ayana Lyons.
North Penn: Jordan Baily, Kiera Holt (GK), Kerry O’Donnell.
Pennridge: Amelia Loughery, Grace Rosica, Kate Unzicker.
Plymouth Whitemarsh: Meghan Wendler
Pope John Paul II: Jill Cobaugh, Marissa Memmo, Ava Zepp.
Souderton: Reiley Knize.
Springfield (Montco): Fiona Rizzo, Emily Smith, Tess Talbot (GK), Emma Yoder.
Upper Dublin: Anna DiMartile, Paige Dinkel.
Upper Merion: Julianna Callison, Ashley Evitts, Julia Newby, Olivia Smith, Samantha Walmsley.
Upper Moreland: Emma Hurley (GK), Annalise Messina, Willow Taylor, Heidi Wittick.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply