Connect with us

Winter Sports

All-Central Swimming: Weaverling, Cullen, Boeckx named Swimmers of Year

Garnet Valley's Catherine Weaverling, left, and Casey Cullen of Radnor pose with their medals after finishing first and second, respectively, in the District 1 Class 3A 100-yard butterfly Thursday afternoon.

There was little separating Catherine Weaverling and Casey Cullen during the regular season. The pair would go on to return three medals from the PIAA Championships (Cullen taking two), but the Garnet Valley junior and Radnor sophomore split the vote for Central League swimmer of the year, according to league coaches.

On the boys side, Ridley’s Alex Boeckx, who would medal in the 200 IM and 100 breast at states, was the clear choice.

Joining Weaverling and Cullen on the girls side are double state medal-winning freshman Katya Eruslanova of Haverford and Strath Haven distance star Sydney Bergstrom. League champ Conestoga put four swimmers on the first team, with Radnor second by earning three nods. States-qualifying divers Alexandra Pastris of Marple Newtown and Amari Brown-Swint of Lower Merion round out the girls first team.

Conestoga’s boys placed four on the first team, trailed by Garnet Valley with three.

The full list of All-Central selections is below. Note: The All-Central teams are selected by league coaches. The Daily Times has no input in the process whatsoever.

Girls Swimming
First Team

Catherine Weaverling, Garnet Valley*
Casey Cullen, Radnor*
Sydney Bergstrom, Strath Haven
Katya Eruslanova, Haverford
Lily Robinson, Conestoga
Marina Wang, Radnor
Naomi Furman, Conestoga
Audrey Collins, Radnor
Caroline Famous, Conestoga
Allison Stewart, Lower Merion
Annika Naveen, Lower Merion
Amy Townend, Garnet Valley
Mia Yancey, Strath Haven
Audrey Langanelli, Conestoga
Kate Levensten, Harriton
Alexandra Pastris, Marple Newtown (Diving)
Amari Brown-Swint, Lower Merion (diving)

Second Team

Avery Barber, Radnor
Kelsey Wakiyama, Radnor
Natalie Agostini, Harriton
Mary Kubiak, Springfield
Allison Yuan, Conestoga
Diedre Scudder, Garnet Valley
Ava Collin, Conestoga
Sarah Krissinger, Haverford
Brooke Jamieson, Haverford
Elishka Bailey, Lower Merion
Delaney Burns, Conestoga
Ella Shifflett, Strath Haven
Grace Reagan, Ridley
Elena Rossi, Harriton
Anastasia Erley, Garnet Valley
Elsley Hazell, Haverford
Ava Dijstelbloem, Strath Haven (diving)

Honorable mention

Conestoga: Jamie Semmer, Samantha Verrelli
Garnet Valley: Kiera Scudder, Hailey Kouh
Harriton: Haley McClain, Sydney Levensten
Haverford: Laura Seavey, Julia Curran
Lower Merion: Dahlia Lavine, Ella Harris
Marple Newtown: Kayla Hammond, Gabby Vanderslice
Penncrest: Sofia Saulino, Samantha Woolery
Radnor: Ella Fulton, Audrey Margolies
Ridley: Madison Rae, Hailey King
Springfield: Michelle Kubiak, Kylie Carney
Strath Haven: Sophie Bergstrom, Noa Dijstelbloem
Upper Darby: Emily Lehman, Alison Ascareggi

Boys Swimming
First Team

Alex Boeckx, Ridley*
Gary Wang, Conestoga
Raymond Welgosh, Conestoga
Steven Woolery, Penncrest
Aidan Zipf, Garnet Valley
Zach Given, Haverford
Matthew Hurford, Garnet Valley
Luke Nagel, Conestoga
Stephen Graver, Conestoga
Rhett Cosgrove, Radnor
Williams Thomas, Marple Newtown
Matthew Gray, Marple Newtown
Jack Undercofler, Radnor
Griffin Young, Garnet Valley
Josh Sultanik, Lower Merion
Brian Chettle, Radnor (diving)
Kieran Clark, Penncrest (diving)

Second Team

Tom Ronayne, Springfield
Matthew Seifried, Springfield
Wil Cosgrove, Radnor
Chase Bentley, Radnor
Jon Meyer, Haverford
James Hughes, Conestoga
Brandon Decker, Springfield
Quentin Stoloff, Harriton
Nicholas Lombrana, Springfield
Logan DeConti, Springfield
Michael Huegel, Springfield
Francis Fan, Harriton
James Manino, Conestoga
Patrick Rankin, Upper Darby
Matthew Pawlow, Conestoga
Noel Park, Conestoga
Dean Carson, Haverford (diving)

Honorable Mention

Conestoga: Miles Whitaker, Prathit Ray
Garnet Valley: TJ Baldino, Ryan Hickey
Harriton: Thad Kiker, Michael O’ Connor
Haverford: Kyle Given, Kieran Brennan
Lower Merion: Liam Keating, Phillip Gao
Marple Newtown: Finn Gunther, Matthew Kirlin
Penncrest: Tom McLaughlin, JB Peterson
Radnor: Jack Lindgren, Leo Mlodzienski
Ridley: Wyatt Shanks, Mario Costa
Springfield: Luke Kennedy, Owen Seifried
Strath Haven: Ethan Roberts, Charlie Shankweiler
Upper Darby: Kevyn Daly, Connor Hunt



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen + 19 =


Recent News


More in Winter Sports