Truman wrestling falls with forfeits at Abington

ABINGTON – Harry S Truman might have won its second dual meet of the season Dec. 16 at Abington, had it not surrendered 18 points on forfeits. As things panned out however, the Tigers had no wrestlers ready to go at 106, 160 and 195 pounds, handing the Galloping Ghosts a 37-30 triumph.

Seniors Connor McAdams (220 pounds), Dennis Burns (120) and Dustin Stone (145) all won by fall for the Tigers. Freshman Gunnar Fuss (126) also pinned his opponent Abington freshman Matt Werner in 50 seconds, flat. After dropping his first two bouts of the season Dec. 5 at the Brian Bealer Memorial Bear Duals, Fuss has won his last seven matchups with three of those coming by pin, one by tech-fall and one major decision.

Truman senior Quentin Mulbah (170) and junior Chris Hall (138) also won decisions for the Tigers. Mulbah is 7-3 so far with four wins in the Bealer duals and two more in the Colley Classic Dec. 12 at West Chester East.

A state qualifier last season, Stone is 7-2 thus far with a 3-2 record at the Bealer Duals and a 3-0 mark at the Colley Classic. A district 1 medalist last season, Burns is 6-3 with three wins at Bealer and a pair of victories at the Colley Classic.

McAdams is 7-4 with three wins at Bealer and three more at Colley.

At the Bealer Duals, Truman won its first dual meet of the season when it outpaced Interboro, 36-28. While the Tigers wrestled close matchups in two other bout, they lost by five points to Governor Mifflin and by nine to Unionville.

Contact the author at, or @BucksLocalSport on Twitter

Abington 37, Harry S Truman 30

(Dec. 16 at Abington)

170 — Quentin Mulbah (T) dec. Steven Ingram, 3-2; 182 — David McCaughey (A) maj. dec. Alex Litz, 11-3; 195 — Luke Werner (A) won by forfeit; 220 — Keshon Guiellmo (A) dec. Isaiah Godbold, 6-5; 285 — Connor McAdams (T) pinned Jason Waller, 3:27; 106 — Justin Ciesielski (A) won by forfeit; 113 — Dan Brett (A) dec. Ernest Registre, 8-4; 120 — Dennis Burns (T) pinned Gabe Stone, 2:46; 126 — Gunnar Fuss (T) pinned Matt Werner, 0:50; 132 — Austin Hain (A) pinned Alex Vendrell, 5:05; 138 -Chris Hall (T) dec. James Campbell, 6-1; 145 — Dustin Stone (T) pinned Chris Kwiatkowski, 2:10; 152 — Shane Rose (A) dec. Austin Vossbein, 5-2; 160 — Daniel Kiesling (A) won by forfeit.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply