The Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media 2023 Girls Lacrosse All-Area Teams

The Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media area was well represented in the PIAA Class 2A tournament with Archbishop Carroll, Mount St. Joseph, Gwynedd Mercy and Upper Moreland earning spots in the tournament field.

It was Carroll once again ending up with the gold, as talented Patriots squad – which had three players, seniors Ava Bleckley and Machaela Henry and junior Chloe Bleckley named to the 2023 All-Area first team – claim a third consecutive state championship, rolling past Twin Valley 17-5 in State College.

Ava Bleckley, the All-Area Player of the Year, scored five goals in the state final as the James Madison commit ended the season with 98 points on 59 goals and 39 assists while also collecting  78 draw controls, 25 ground balls and 24 caused turnovers.

Chloe Bleckley, who has verballed to JMU, added 58 goals and 22 assists (80 points), 55 draw controls, 24 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers as Carroll also won its 22nd straight Philadelphia Catholic League title. Henry, heading to play in college at Xavier, posted 48 goals and 21 assists (69 points), 82 draw controls, nine ground balls and seven caused turnovers.

Archbishop Carroll’s Chloe Bleckley (3) looks to drive past Upper Moreland’s Annalise Messina (12) during their PIAA-2A first round game on Tuesday, June 6, 2023 at Gwynedd Mercy. (Mike Cabrey/MediaNews Group)

Mount St. Joseph claimed its first-ever District 1 championship – edging Bishop Shanahan 10-9 in the final – and advanced to the state semifinals. The Magic had a trio named to the First Team in senior goalie Annie Shields, senior Kate Donovan and junior Maggie Rezza.

Shields, a USC commit, made saves of 58.2% of the shots sent her way. Donovan, a George Washington commit, had 46 goals, 11 assists, 50 ground balls and 24 caused turnovers while Rezza – who has verbally committed to Penn State – finished with 43 goals, 19 assists, 35 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers.

North Penn’s Kayla Stressman (35) with the ball during the second half of the Knights’ District 1-3A first round game against Upper Merion on Tuesday, May 16, 2023. (Mike Cabrey/MediaNews Group)

Gwynedd Mercy senior Audrey Beck, heading to Old Dominion, helped the Monarchs reach a second straight PIAA tournament where they topped District 2 Crestwood 16-13 in the first round.

Upper Moreland, Upper Dublin and Springfield-Montco each earned a share of the Suburban One League American Conference title with all three having a player named All-Area First Team.

Springfield junior Emma Yoder helped the Spartans win their first 14 games. Upper Moreland sophomore Annalise Messina powered the Golden Bears’ attack with 103 goals and 34 assists while also totaling 120 draw controls, 51 ground balls and 45 caused turnovers. UD sophomore Anna DiMartile finished 2023 with 48 goals, 17 assists, 55 draw controls, 43 ground balls and 26 caused turnovers.

North Penn senior Kayla Stessman paced the offense for a Knights side that shared the SOL National Conference crown with Pennsbury. The Bloomsburg commit collected 67 goals, 29 assists, 125 draw controls, 39 ground balls and 15 caused turnovers.

Methacton senior Megan Sanelli, a St. Joseph’s commit, finished the year with 69 goals and 15 assists.

Upper Dublin’s Anna DiMartile (13) drives down the field against Springfield during their game on Friday, May 5, 2023. (Mike Cabrey/MediaNews Group)

The Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media 2023 Girls Lacrosse All-Area Teams


Ava Bleckley, Sr., Midfield, Archbishop Carroll

Chloe Bleckley, Jr., Midfield, Archbishop Carroll

Machaela Henry, Sr., Midfield, Archbishop Carroll

Kate Donovan, Sr., Midfield, Mount St. Joseph

Maggie Rezza, Jr., Midfield, Mount St. Joseph

Megan Sanelli, Sr., Midfield, Methacton

Kayla Stressman, Sr., Attack, North Penn

Emma Yoder, Jr., Midfield, Springfield-Montco

Annalise Messina, So., Midfield, Upper Moreland

Audrey Beck, Sr., Midfield/Attack, Gwynedd Mercy

Anna DiMartile, So., Midfield, Upper Dublin

Annie Shields, Sr., Goalkeeper, Mount St. Joseph


Ella Wright, Sr., Defense, Archbishop Carroll

Michelle Zhai, Sr., Attack, Methacton

Paige Dinkel, Jr., Midfield, Upper Dublin

Emily Simpson, Sr., Midfield, Lansdale Catholic

Charlotte James, Sr., Defense, Upper Moreland

Grace Rosica, Sr., Midfield, Pennridge

Katie Westmoreland, So., Attack, Mount St. Joseph

Alexa McCabe, So., Attack, Wissahickon

Fiona Rizzo, Jr., Attack, Springfield-Montco

Keira Cassidy, Sr., Midfield/Attack, Gwynedd Mercy

Rylee Fanelli, Fr., Midfield, Lansdale Catholic

Kiera Holt., Sr., Goalkeeper, North Penn


Abington: Harper McGinley (Jr.), Katie Pennekamp (Fr.), Audrey Silverman (Sr.).
Abington Friends: Bella Washington-Vasquez (GK) (Sr.)
Academy New Church: Briana McCurdy (Sr.).
Archbishop Carroll: Sienna Golden (Jr.), Mary Matey (Sr.), Cate McConaghy (Sr.), Bridget Robinson (GK) (Sr.), Megan Sheridan (Sr.), Lainey Straub (Sr.).
Archbishop Wood: Cate DeGraw (Jr.), Paige Eckert (Fr), Grace Hoeger (Jr.), Tess Waltrich (Jr.).
Central Bucks East: Paige Dougherty (Fr.), Paige Keller (Jr),
Central Bucks West: Abby Rogers (Jr.), Bella Schrandt (So.).
Central Bucks South: Addy Geary (So.).
Dock Mennonite: Kenzie Derstine (Sr.), Megan Wenzel (Sr.).
Germantown Academy: Emma Goodwin (Jr.), Mia Raven (Sr.), Sydney Wanner (So.)
Gwynedd Mercy: Sydney Mandato (Sr.), Ellie Verrill (Sr.), Abi Wickersham (Sr.).
Hatboro-Horsham: Alli Hewish (Sr).
Jenkintown: Brynn McCall, Karolyn Mitchell, Gabby Ottaviano, Liv Spoerl.
Lansdale Catholic: Ava Mercier (Sr.), Brielle U’Selis (Sr.).
Methacton: Elise DeWan (Sr.), Lily DeWan (Jr.)
Mount St. Joseph: Amelia Clair (Jr.), Meghan Holmes (So.), Ava Rossi (Sr.), Quinn Shields (Jr.), Kat Zampirri (Sr.).
Norristown: Nadia Jackson (Fr.), Kayla Rivera (Fr.)
North Penn: Lauren Blanch (Sr.), Katie Harkins (So.).
Pennridge: Ava Fantaskey (Jr.), Kate Unzicker (Jr.).
Pope John Paul II: Jill Cobaugh (Jr.), Tess Riley (Jr.), Ava Zepp (Jr.),
Plymouth Whitemarsh: Brianna Reynolds (Jr.), Meghan Wendler (Jr.).
Quakertown: Keira Shaw (Jr.).
Souderton: Tatum Andrews (So.), Ang Borisow (Sr.).
Springfield-Montco: Maddie McDevitt (Jr.), Shannon Meder (Sr.), Tess Talbot (GK) (Jr.).
Upper Dublin: Allison Gay (Sr.).
Upper Merion: Julianna Callison (Sr.), Ashley Evitts (Sr.), Julia Newby (Sr.), Anaya Onwubuariri (GK) (So.), Olivia Smith (Jr.), Sam Walmsley (Jr.),
Upper Moreland: Avery Adamski (So.), Reagan Cummins (Sr.), Addi Hurley (GK) (So).
Wissahickon: Emma Greenberg (So.).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply