Presenting fall 2016 All-Main Line girls’ tennis team

The fall 2016 Main Line high school girls’ tennis season included some outstanding teams, particularly in the Central League.
Harriton (17-1) captured the PIAA Class AAA state championship. The Rams also won the PIAA District One Class AAA title.
Conestoga (17-2) was undefeated Central League champions for the eighth straight year, and reached the quarterfinal round of the PIAA District One team championships.
Radnor (12-3, 9-2) and Lower Merion (9-7) also had strong seasons in the Central League.
In the InterAc, Baldwin School (13-2, 5-1) and Agnes Irwin (6-3, 4-2) were contenders, while Academy of Notre Dame (8-4) and Episcopal Academy (7-6) enjoyed winning campaigns.
In the Friends’ Schools League, Friends’ Central (12-7) captured the league title.
The All-Main Line high school girls’ tennis teams are selected by the coaches. Because Main Line Media News covers 19 high schools, the Main Line Media News sports staff limits the number of spots available to first team, second team and honorable mention — but follows the priority of coaches’ selections.
What follows are the fall 2016 All-Main Line girls’ tennis teams:

First team – singles
McKenna Bramlage, Academy of Notre Dame – Sophomore first singles player posted 8-3 record and received first team All-InterAc honors.
Emma Sass, Baldwin School – Senior first singles, a first team All-InterAc pick, posted an 8-3 overall record (4-1 league).
Francesca Douglas, Baldwin School – Junior third singles, a first team All-InterAc pick, posted a 13-2 overall record (6-0 league).
Ashley Griffith, Conestoga – Sophomore first singles, a first team All-Central League singles player, was the Pioneers’ MVP. Finished second in both the Central League singles tournament and doubles tourney. “One of the most talented players I have ever coached,” said long-time Conestoga head coach Fran Tomaselli of Griffith.
Zoe Ginsberg, Friends’ Central – Senior co-captain and No. 2 singles player received first team All-Friends Schools League honors and was the top player on the FSL champions.
Sophia Sassoli, Harriton – Sophomore posted 18-1 record while leading Rams at No. 1 singles to the PIAA Class AAA state championship, winning her key match in the state championship finals.
Connie Richards, Harriton – Sophomore No. 2 singles posted 19-0 for the PIAA state champions, won every Central League match, and captured the deciding fifth match at the PIAA Class AAA state championship final.
Nina Hoog, Harriton – Sophomore posted 21-2 record for the state champs, captured her second straight Central League singles title, won every Central League match at third singles during the season, and won a key match in the PIAA Class AAA state championship semifinals.
Simone Burde, Lower Merion – Senior was first team All-Central League for the second straight year, and finished in the top four in Central League singles for the fourth consecutive year. According to LM head coach Dave O’Connell, she was the first Lower Merion girl to qualify for Districts all four years.
Grace Hederick, Radnor – Senior first singles posted a 10-2 record, was All-Central League first team singles, and was the Red Raiders’ MVP.
Jessica Lin, Radnor – Senior third singles posted 14-1 record at third singles, and was co-MVP of strong Red Raiders’ squad. Received All-Central League honors.

First team – doubles
Grace Leasure and Natalie Hughes, Academy of Notre Dame – This doubles team posted 7-0 record and received first team All-InterAc honors. Leasure, a senior captain, was the Irish’s MVP and won Inter-Ac sportmanship award voted by coaches.
Olivia Dodge and Priya Aravindhan, Conestoga – This first doubles team of a freshman and sophomore, respectively, posted 17-1 record, finished fourth in the Central League doubles tournament and qualified for District One doubles. Noted for her aggressive and energetic style of play.
Emily Beinkampen and Eloise Nimoityn, Episcopal Academy – This senior first doubles posted a 12-2 record this fall, and posted a 49-6 career record – the best doubles winning percentage in EA girls’ tennis history.

Second team
Academy of Notre Dame – junior Caroline Mackay, second singles.
Agnes Irwin – junior Kayla Neary, first singles. junior Carlin Sullivan and freshman Rachel Mashek, second doubles.
Baldwin School – junior Lauren Wang, second singles; senior Alexa Bartels, third doubles.
Conestoga – junior Maddie Wood, third singles; sophomore Cassidy Landau, second singles.
Episcopal Academy – senior Nina Stavropolous and junior Sam Macrides, doubles.
Friends’ Central – sophomore Skye Victor, first singles; senior Laura Barr, third singles.
Harriton – junior Sofia Kandoussi and sophomore Lauren Binnion, first doubles; senior Sonia Groeneveld and freshman Shaina Ginsberg, second doubles.
Haverford – senior Nellie O’Leary, first singles; senior Autumn Francis, third singles.
Radnor – freshman Kanon Ciarrocchi, second singles; senior Grace Moore and freshman Lucy Hederick, first doubles.
Shipley – Isabella Scardapane, sophomore first singles; Grace Decatur, freshman first doubles/third singles.

Honorable mention
Academy of Notre Dame – senior Mackenzie Irvine and junior Sarah Crinnion, second doubles.
Agnes Irwin – junior Alexis Short and freshman Olivia Walsh, first doubles; seniors Jordyn Hurly and Sabina Smith, third doubles.
Friends’ Central – junior Claire Coss and sophomore Julia Nierenberg, first doubles; senior Sophie Berger and freshman Hannah Rossio, second doubles.
Haverford – senior Sloan Longo and sophomore Lia Robben, first doubles.
Radnor – senior Quinn Flannery and freshman Bridget Dougherty, second doubles.
Sacred Heart – senior Emily Robinson, first/second singles; junior Marcella Marino, first/second singles.
Shipley – senior Kate Aschkenasy; senior Brook Robinson.

Note: Eddie Levin contributed to this article. Archbishop Carroll, Barrack Hebrew Academy, Merion Mercy Academy and Villa Maria Academy did not submit completed All-Main Line girls’ tennis ballots.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply