Jaworski’s big night propels Perk Valley past Spring-Ford

[embedyt] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dV8rBLQZniI[/embedyt]

ROYERSFORD >> He delivered with big performances on the gridiron in helping lead Perkiomen Valley to the second round of the District 1-AAAA playoffs.

On the hardwood it’s no different.

When the lights get bright.

The performance of Justin Jaworski matches it.

Perkiomen Valley's Justin Jaworski drives into the lane during the first half. (Sam Stewart - Digital First Media)
Perkiomen Valley’s Justin Jaworski drives into the lane during the first half. (Sam Stewart – Digital First Media)

Jaworski sprung for a game-high 25 points, including a 4-for-6 effort from beyond the arc, to lead the Vikings to a 53-45 win over Spring-Ford Friday night to keep their PAC-10 playoff hopes alive.

The junior paced the team for 14 of the team’s 25 first-half points before supplying some much needed insurance in the fourth to give the Vikings a desperately-needed win that sets up another must-win situation against Owen J. Roberts Monday night. A win and the Vikings enter the PAC-10 playoffs, a loss and Boyertown enters based on the divisional record tiebreaker.

“It’s (tonight’s game) was the same as any other game, you have to get ready but obviously this one had bigger stakes,” Jaworski, a junior, said. “Big time players step up in big time situations. That’s what I tried to do today and I think I did that.”

Sean Owens added 15 points in the win which saw the Vikings shoot 54 percent from the floor (14-for-26).

“Wait for a great shot, take the great easy shot and try to limit their touches,” PV head coach Mike Poysden said of the team’s gameplan. “They (Spring-Ford) have great weapons in all directions and we knew they were going to start to run doubles and bring pressure, but I think what you saw tonight with Justin and Owens was one of their most mature games in terms of: here’s our plan and you two guys are going to get us to it.”

Matt Gnias and Cam Reid finished with 14 in the loss for Spring-Ford.

Pregame Senior Night ceremonies celebrated Gnias, Reid, Nigel Cooke, Danny Zack, JT Cuthbertson, Charles Scalies and Ben Payonk.


Perkiomen Valley1510111753

Perkiomen Valley

3Ethan Hodson01201
11Justin Jaworski779425
13Tyler Strechay20015
15Sean Owens457215
24Sean Moriarity13605
32Cullen O’Connor02602
34Hogan Millheim00000


0Charles Drummond20026
2Chandler Salutric00000
3Nigel Cooke10013
10Ryan Fitzpatrick00000
12Stone Scarcelle00000
13Matt Gnias368214
14Danny Zack40008
21Nestor Diaz00000
23Cameron Reid545014
33Charles Scalies00000
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply