Delco Football Coaches MVPs: Ruley stole the show in Penn Wood’s win

HAVERFORD >> Penn Wood running back Tayvon Ruley was at his best last Saturday.

Ruley exploded for a career-high 237 yards and four touchdowns to lead the Patriots to a 48-21 victory over Chichester, the team’s first win against a Del Val League foe in four years.

Ruley’s performance earned him Del Val League MVP honors at Monday night’s Delaware County Coaches Association meeting at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

Delco Christian continues to dominate the opposition with its relentless rushing attack. Nazim Trammell-Wells showed the way in last Saturday’s blowout victory over Bristol, amassing 218 yards and three touchdowns. For his efforts, the senior running back was named player of the week by the Independent Schools coaches.

In the Central League, Lower Merion notched its second win of 2015 thanks in large part to the tremendous play of senior Mike Berg. This week’s Central League MVP had 176 receiving yards and totaled four touchdowns, and made 12 tackles at the linebacker position as the Aces cruised to 41-20 decision over Harriton.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Jack Donaghy (Haverford). Running Back: Isaiah Bruce (Upper Darby). Receiver: Mike Berg (Lower Merion). Offensive Line: Chad Hrivnak (Garnet Valley). Defensive Line: Isaiah Coates (Radnor). Linebacker: Tom Becker (Springfield). Defensive Back: Ryan Manbeck (Garnet Valley). Specialist: Jack Donaghy (Haverford).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Tim Miller (Conestoga); Matt Hamby (Garnet Valley); Brandon Jones (Lower Merion); Christoff Minott (Upper Darby). Running Back: Corey Manning (Conestoga); Derrick West (Garnet Valley); Mike Romanofsky (Haverford); Elijah Smith (Lower Merion); Jack Horvath (Radnor); Naa’ir Williams (Radnor); Malik Young (Ridley). Receiver: Pete Jean (Conestoga); Jake Smolenski (Harriton); Abel Hoff (Marple Newtown); Chris Rufo (Marple Newtown); Nadir Forney (Ridley); Tom Reilly (Ridley); Joe Kennedy (Springfield); Brett Sheeran (Springfield). Offensive Line: Justin George (Garnet Valley); Sergey Plokhov (Garnet Valley); Ted Field (Garnet Valley); Zelik Wooten (Garnet Valley); Alex Yao (Garnet Valley); Ryan McConnell (Lower Merion); Dennis Kennedy (Ridley); Colin Bradley (Radnor); Shawn Page (Upper Darby). Defensive Line: Dennis Spaventa (Haverford); Nick DiOrio (Haverford); Tanner Eisenhard (Lower Merion); Mateos Ghebre (Penncrest); Saleem Lockett (Ridley); Dan Archibong (Springfield); Justin Shields (Springfield); Derek Strain (Springfield); Chris Smith (Upper Darby); Derrick Korboi (Upper Darby). Linebacker: Dima Ackerman (Conestoga); Pete Jean (Conestoga); Shane Donegan (Garnet Valley); Tommy Tice (Lower Merion); Dario Falcone (Radnor); Nick Gorman (Springfield); Scott Mellett (Upper Darby). Defensive Back: Jack Thomas (Harriton); Ethan Samel (Haverford); Marquis Gee (Lower Merion); Ryan Kinnard (Penncrest); Tucker Ballbach (Radnor); Aaron Fuller (Radnor); Alex Hino (Radnor); Naiqjuan McKenzie (Upper Darby). Specialist: Chris Chelo (Penncrest).

Del Val League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Javon Lindsey-Terrell (Penn Wood). Running Back: Tayvon Ruley (Penn Wood). Receiver: Kennedy Poles (Penn Wood). Offensive Line: Mike MacMillan (Interboro). Defensive Line: Jordan Johnson (Penn Wood). Linebacker: Terrel Lee (Academy Park). Defensive Back: Ray Argo (Chichester). Specialist: Nate Murtha (Interboro).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Danny Mea (Interboro). Running Back: Jermaine Wesley (Academy Park); Kevin Miller (Chichester); Chris Thomas (Interboro); Chris Hummel (Interboro); Matt O’Chuida (Interboro). Receiver: Jawan Collins (Academy Park); Matt DiSands (Interboro). Offensive Line: Nykeal Jalloh (Academy Park); Dan Kemp (Academy Park); Chris Thomas (Academy Park); Brandyne Tynes (Interboro); Quentin Frangelli (Interboro); Cameron Brooks (Interboro); Brett McLaughlin (Interboro). Defensive Line: Togba Porte (Academy Park); Davante Harris (Academy Park); Maurice Martin (Chichester); Kenny Ngaima (Penn Wood); Chase Pattinson (Interboro); Steve Royer (Interboro). Linebacker: Anthony Balogh (Academy Park); Edward Fields III (Penn Wood). Defensive Back: Clarence Buchanan (Academy Park); Christian Santos (Penn Wood); Chris Hummel (Interboro). Specialist: None.

Independent Schools

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Tommy Toal (Haverford School). Running Back: Nazim Trammell-Wells (Delco Christian). Receiver: Dox Aitken (Haverford School) and Keyveat Postell (Haverford School). Offensive Line: Giho Park (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Frank Cresta (Haverford School). Linebacker: Mickey Kober (Haverford School). Defensive Back: Alvin Eburuah (Cardinal O’Hara). Specialist: Tommy McNamara (Haverford School).

Honorable Mention >> Devin Hill (Delco Christian). Running Back: Dee Barlee (Episcopal Academy); Eli Godfrey (Haverford School); Jon Kester (Sun Valley). Receiver: None. Offensive Line: Adam Klein (Episcopal Academy); Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian); Kouadio Toukou (Delco Christian); Brian Denoncour (Haverford School). Defensive Line: Anthony Amoroso (Cardinal O’Hara); Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian); Kouadio Toukou (Delco Christian); Colin Hurlbrink (Haverford School). Linebacker: Jake Martellucci (Episcopal Academy); Jack Grim (Delco Christian); Chris Kober (Haverford School). Defensive Back: Chris Rushton (Episcopal Academy); Dox Aitken (Haverford School). Specialist: Ford Harvey (Delco Christian).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply