Delco Football Coaches MVPs: Workhorse Wesley powered Academy Park

HAVERFORD >> Academy Park’s Jermaine Wesley has been a workhorse out of the backfield this season.

The senior running back is the county’s second-leading rusher through the first six weeks. Last Saturday afternoon, Wesley enjoyed his best game yet, amassing 170 yards and two touchdowns to help the undefeated Knights cruise past Penn Wood, 49-7.

For his performance, Wesley was named Del Val League MVP at Monday night’s weekly Delaware County Coaches Association meeting at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

The Central League selected co-players of the week for the first time this season, and it’s easy to see why. Haverford’s Chris Trainor and Upper Darby’s Isaiah Bruce shared the honors.

Trainor was instrumental at receiver and outside linebacker in the Fords’ 29-21 victory over Garnet Valley. He caught five passes for 97 yards and a touchdown, but that’s only half of his story. Trainor was a force at linebacker, blocked a point-after kick and recorded an interception to spoil Garnet Valley’s final drive of the fourth quarter.

Dee Barlee exploded in Episcopal Academy’s 42-14 rout of Conwell-Egan, leading to MVP recognition by coaches of the Independent Schools. The All-Delco running back gained 152 yards and scored four touchdowns for the unbeaten Churchmen.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Jack Donaghy (Haverford). Running Back: Isaiah Bruce (Upper Darby). Receiver: Bob McClure (Haverford). Offensive Line: Shawn Page (Upper Darby). Defensive Line: Noah Turner (Marple Newtown). Linebacker: Jack Ferrell (Haverford). Defensive Back: Tucker Ballbach (Radnor). Specialist: Zack Kaut (Penncrest).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Cade Stratton (Ridley); Pat McDermott (Radnor); Christoff Minott (Upper Darby). Running Back: Corey Manning (Conestoga); Dan Guy (Garnet Valley); Mike Romanofsky (Haverford); Kareem Bernard (Haverford); Malik Young (Ridley); Jack Wilson (Radnor); Jack Horvath (Radnor). Receiver: Bob Clayton (Garnet Valley); Jake Smolenski (Harriton); Matt Corbett (Haverford); Chris Trainor (Haverford); Cameron Mathes (Marple Newtown); Abel Hoff (Marple Newtown); Zane Horne (Penncrest); Tom Reilly (Ridley); Nadir Forney (Ridley); Brandon Morton (Upper Darby). Offensive Line: Jack Farrell (Haverford); Austin Pugh (Haverford); James George (Penncrest); Matt Cipolloni (Ridley); Eric Frasoni (Ridley); Dennis Kennedy (Ridley); Colin Bradley (Radnor); Matt Rigolizzo (Radnor); Harrison Doane (Radnor); Justin Shields (Springfield). Defensive Line: Will Gradisek (Conestoga); Brendan Granahan (Garnet Valley); Nick Diorio (Haverford); Denis Spaventa (Haverford); Luke Lozowicki (Marple Newtown); Mateos Ghebre (Penncrest); Antonio Petril (Ridley); Nick Deprinzio (Ridley); Mitch Cardow (Ridley); Isaiah Coates (Radnor); Griff Monaghan (Radnor); Dan Archibong (Springfield); Derrick Kolboi (Upper Darby). Linebacker: Pete Jean (Conestoga); Ronan Carter (Conestoga); Chris Trainor (Haverford); Mike Berg (Lower Merion); Matt McKee (Marple Newtown); Gino DiCamillo (Marple Newtown); Noah Birdsall (Penncrest); Dario Falcone (Radnor); Tom Becker (Springfield); Ricky Sterling (Springfield);  Dane Burke (Upper Darby). Defensive Back: Ethan Samel (Haverford); Tyler Kostack (Marple Newtown); Teron Johnson (Marple Newtown); Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown); Calvin Fielding (Upper Darby). Specialist: Ryan Manbeck (Garnet Valley); Matt Parker (Garnet Valley); Reilly Fillman (Marple Newtown).

Del Val League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Javon Lindsey-Terrell (Penn Wood). Running Back: Jermaine Wesley (Academy Park). Receiver: Raheem Bowens (Penn Wood). Offensive Line: Brandon Tynes (Interboro). Defensive Line: Togba Porte (Academy Park). Linebacker: Jahmad Lockett (Chichester). Defensive Back: Clarence Buchanan (Academy Park). Specialist: Joe Pfaff (Interboro).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Taylor Moors (Academy Park); Dan Mea (Interboro); Jamir Green (Chester). Running Back: Kevin Miller (Chichester); Lamar Shaw (Interboro); Ed Nelson Jr. (Chester). Receiver: Jawan Collins (Academy Park); DeAndray Covert (Academy Park); Matt DiSands (Interboro); Chase Pattinson (Interboro); Offensive Line: Nykeal Jalloh (Academy Park); Marion Holmes (Academy Park); Corey Simmons (Academy Park); Andrew Wilson (Chichester); Eric Weah (Chichester); Jake Lancianese (Chichester); Quentin Frangelli (Interboro); Cam Brooks (Interboro); Keyshaun Ash (Chester); Naim Little (Chester). Defensive Line: Corey Simmons (Academy Park); Maurice Martin (Chichester); Steve Royer (Interboro); Chase Pattinson (Interboro); Jordan Johnson (Penn Wood); Naim Little (Chester). Linebacker: Anthony Balogh (Academy Park); Hunter Thornton (Chichester); Greg Allman (Chichester); Kahlie Kuyateh (Interboro); Mike Chamberlin (Interboro); Arlo Lee Jr. (Chester). Defensive Back: Teddy Wright (Academy Park); Ray Argo (Chichester); Chris Hummel (Interboro); Javon Lindsey-Terrell (Penn Wood); Ed Fields III (Penn Wood); Anthony Sterling (Chester); Tamir Friend (Chester); Nasheed McCaskill (Chester). Specialist: None.

Independent Schools

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Tommy Toal (Haverford School). Running Back: Jon Kester (Sun Valley). Receiver: Christian Feliziani (Episcopal Academy). Offensive Line: Steve Mitchell (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Asim Richards (Haverford School). Linebacker: Bobby Koons (Sun Valley). Defensive Back: Dox Aitken (Haverford School). Specilist: Eli Godfrey (Haverford School).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: CJ McAnally (Episcopal Academy). Running Back: Dee Barlee (Episcopal Academy); Dan Poirier (Delco Christian). Receiver: Dox Aitken (Haverford School); Keyveat Postell (Haverford School). Offensive Line: Anthony Reginelli (Haverford School); Logan Markley (Sun Valley); Nigel Bell (Sun Valley); Adam Klein (Episcopal Academy); Kyle Winters (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Wali Sabree (Sun Valley); Dallas Taylor (Episcopal Academy). Linebacker: Mickey Kober (Haverford School); Jack Grim (Delco Christian). Defensive Back: Forry Smith (Haverford School); Caliph Jones (Sun Valley); Chris Chung (Delco Christian). Specialist: Dox Aitken (Haverford School); Mike Windsor (Sun Valley); Kevin Calamita (Cardinal O’Hara); Connor Ringwalt (Episcopal Academy); Ford Harvey (Delco Christian).


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply