Delco Football Coaches MVPs: Interboro’s Mea excelled on both sides of the ball

HAVERFORD >> It’s hard not to like what Interboro has accomplished through the first five weeks of the 2015 season. At 4-1, the Bucs are running the football with authority and beating teams at the line of scrimmage.

But there’s been one constant to the Bucs’ success, and he’s neither a running back or a lineman: Senior quarterback/linebacker Danny Mea, who like most Interboro QBs in history, is a tough, two-way player who never takes a play off.

Mea was excellent on both sides of the ball in the Bucs’ 23-6 victory at Caravel Academy (Del.) last Friday. He completed only two passes, but ran for one of three Interboro touchdowns. On defense, Mea led a staunch defensive effort that created plenty of havoc in the backfield.  

For his all-around performance, Mea earned Del Val League MVP honors at Monday night’s Delaware County Coaches Association meeting at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

This week’s top honors in the Central League went to Haverford quarterback Jack Donaghy, who took home the MVP for a third time this year. Donaghy was on point in the Fords’ 47-20 victory over Strath Haven, going 16-of-22 for 266 yards and four touchdowns.

Tommy Toal was impressive in his varsity starting debut at quarterback. The Haverford School junior completed 10-of-18 passes for 176 yards and three touchdowns in a 41-6 rout of Penn Wood on the way to garnering player of the week honors by the Independent Schools coaches.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Jack Donaghy (Haverford). Running Back: Isaiah Bruce (Upper Darby). Receiver: Bobby McClure (Haverford). Offensive Line: Shawn Page (Upper Darby). Defensive Line: Daquan Perry (Conestoga) and Tim Bradley (Garnet Valley). Linebacker: Scott Mellet (Upper Darby). Defensive Back: Calvin Fielding (Upper Darby). Specialist: George Lambritsios (Marple Newtown).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Cade Stratton (Ridley); Matt Hamby (Garnet Valley); Anthony Paoletti (Marple Newtown); Pat McDermott (Radnor). Running Back: Evan Tannenbaum (Conestoga); Malik Young (Ridley); Zach Newlon (Strath Haven); Jack Horvath (Radnor). Receiver: Gene Gibbons (Ridley); Tom Reilly (Ridley); Abel Hoff (Marple Newtown); Marcus Weathers (Marple Newtown); Chris Rufo (Marple Newtown); Vince Puppio (Springfield); Justin DiCarlo (Radnor); Alex Hino (Radnor). Offensive Line: Zach Delecce (Conestoga); James King (Upper Darby); Dane Burke (Upper Darby); Zeno Temple (Upper Darby); Mazen Malak (Upper Darby); Matt Cipolloni (Ridley); Sergey Plokhov (Garnet Valley); Sam Petrovitch (Strath Haven); Kyle Kelly (Marple Newtown); Pat Carr (Marple Newtown); Ryan Rhoads (Marple Newtown); Colin Bradley (Radnor); Matt Rigolizzo (Radnor). Defensive Line: Shawn Page (Upper Darby); James King (Upper Darby); Zeno Temple (Upper Darby); Evans Cabral (Upper Darby); Chris Smith (Upper Darby); Antonio Petril (Ridley); Saleem Lockett (Ridley); Peter Deeb (Strath Haven); Noah Turner (Marple Newtown); Kyle Kelly (Marple Newtown); Justin McKeown (Marple Newtown); Luke Lozowicki (Marple Newtown); Justin Shields (Springfield); Dennis Spaventa (Haverford); Isaiah Coates (Radnor); Griff Monaghan (Radnor). Linebacker: Noah Birdsall (Penncrest); Peter Jean (Conestoga); Dane Burke (Upper Darby); Tyler George (Upper Darby); Shane Donegan (Garnet Valley); Shane Mulhern (Strath Haven); Gino DiCamillo (Marple Newtown); Matt McKee (Marple Newtown); Ryan Schneider (Marple Newtown); Billy Farrell (Haverford); Jack Farrell (Haverford); Tom Becker (Springfield); Martin Connor (Radnor). Defensive Back: Peyton Jones (Conestoga); Prosper Saydee (Upper Darby); Gene Gibbons (Ridley); Jack Thomas (Harriton); Zach Conner (Garnet Valley); Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown); Tyler Kostack (Marple Newtown); Deion Davis (Lower Merion); Ethan Samel (Haverford). Specialist: Chris Smith (Conestoga); John Ladishaw (Ridley); Jacob Buttermore (Garnet Valley); Sam Rudolph (Garnet Valley); Bobby Clayton (Garnet Valley).

Del Val League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Taylor Moors (Academy Park). Running Back: Chris Thomas (Interboro). Receiver: Jawan Collins (Academy Park). Offensive Line: Quentin Frangelli (Interboro). Defensive Line: Steve Royer (Interboro). Linebacker: Kalie Kuyateh (Interboro). Defensive Back: Chris Hummel (Interboro). Specialist: None.

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Danny Mea (Interboro). Running Back: Jermaine Wesley (Academy Park); Chris Hummel (Interboro); Lamar Shaw (Interboro); Tayvon Ruley (Penn Wood). Receiver: Matt DiSands (Interboro); Chase Pattinson (Interboro). Offensive Line: Chris Thomas (Academy Park); Nykeal Jalloh (Academy Park); Brandyne Tynes (Interboro); Brett McLaughlin (Interboro); Mike MacMillan (Interboro). Defensive Line: Togba Porte (Academy Park); Jeremy Dembry (Academy Park); Chase Pattinson (Interboro); James Williams (Penn Wood). Linebacker: Will McQueen (Academy Park); Dazhon Miller (Academy Park). Defensive Back: Clarence Buchanan (Academy Park); Teddy Wright (Academy Park); Connor Adams (Interboro). Specialist: Colin Ravert (Interboro).

Independent Schools

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Tommy Toal (Haverford School). Running Back: Malik Twyman (Haverford School). Receiver: Dox Aitken (Haverford School) Offensive Line: Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian) and Stephen Mitchell (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Anthony Betole (Bonner-Prendergast). Linebacker: Jack Grim (Delco Christian). Defensive Back: Chris Chung (Delco Christian). Specialist: Tom Millison (Bonner-Prendergast).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Shaun Douglas (Bonner-Prendergast). Running Back: Nazim Trammell-Wells (Delco Christian); Amir Dorsey (Delco Christian); James Gines (Sun Valley). Receiver: Jack Grim (Delco Christian). Offensive Line: Lou Lombardo (Bonner-Prendergast); Gay-Lorte Breeze (Bonner-Prendergast); Anthony Ruggiero (Sun Valley). Defensive Line: Tim Klingerman (Bonner-Prendergast); Frank Zepka (Haverford School); Wali Sabree (Sun Valley). Linebacker: Ryan George (Bonner-Prendergast); Frank Cresta (Haverford School); Chris Kober (Haverford School); Mickey Kober (Haverford School); James Gines (Sun Valley). Defensive Back: Brandon Betole (Bonner-Prendergast); Kyrin Jackson (Bonner-Prendergast); Micah Sims (Haverford School); Dahmir Ruffin (Haverford School). Specialist: Austin Campbell (Sun Valley); Chase Kilgore (Sun Valley).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply