Delco Football Coaches MVPs: Twice is nice for Haverford’s Donaghy

HAVERFORD >> Haverford High quarterback Jack Donaghy passed for the most yards and touchdowns in Delaware County in 2014. This year, the senior is again slicing and dicing opposing defenses.

You could say Donaghy is in beast mode.

Donaghy was named Central League MVP for the second straight week at Monday night’s Delaware County Coaches Association meeting at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

Donaghy was 15-for-28 with 282 yards and four touchdowns in the Fords’ 49-12 nonleague trouncing of Penn Wood last Friday. Donaghy has also added a new wrinkle to his game in recent weeks: kicking extra points. He aced all six of his point-after attempts against Penn Wood and is a perfect 9-for-9 on the year. Through three games, Donaghy has completed 60 percent of his throws (39-for-65) with seven touchdowns, zero interceptions and a 170.62 efficiency rating.

Chichester’s Kevin Miller was named player of the week in the Del Val League after a tremendous

Running back Kevin Miller, the Del Val League's weekly MVP, recorded three touchdowns and 201 yards of total offense in Chichester's Week 3 victory.
Running back Kevin Miller, the Del Val League’s weekly MVP, recorded three touchdowns and 201 yards of total offense in Chichester’s Week 3 victory.

all-around offensive performance in the Eagles’ 51-0 rout of Kutztown. Miller accounted for 201 yards of offense with three touchdowns. He rushed for a season-high 119 yards on just eight carries.

Malik Twyman stole the show for The Haverford School last Friday and was selected MVP by the independent coaches. The junior running back exploded for 169 yards and two scores to lead the undefeated Fords to a 35-13 shellacking of West Catholic.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Jack Donaghy (Haverford). Running Back: Derrick West (Garnet Valley). Receiver: Jack Wilson (Radnor). Offensive Line: Martin Connor (Radnor) and Sergey Plokhou (Garnet Valley). Defensive Line: Tim Bradley (Garnet Valley). Linebacker: Pete Jean (Conestoga) and Jack Farrell (Haverford). Defensive Back: Josh Simpson (Radnor). Specialist: Jack Donaghy.

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Pat Stewart (Harriton); Anthony Paoletti (Marple Newtown); Pat McDermott (Radnor). Running Back: Corey Manning (Conestoga); Kareem Bernard (Haverford); Isaac Iglesias (Lower Merion); Ryan Kinnard (Penncrest); Jack Horvath (Radnor). Receiver: Chris Trainor (Haverford); Rashon Cooke (Lower Merion); Abel Hoff (Marple Newtown); Marcus Weathers (Marple Newtown); Justin DiCarlo (Radnor). Offensive Line: Kade LaMarre (Conestoga); Ted Field (Garnet Valley); Justin George (Garnet Valley); Tommy Tice (Lower Merion); James George (Penncrest); Pete Deeb (Strath Haven); Colin Bradley (Radnor); Harrison Doane (Radnor); Matt Cella (Springfield); Shawn Page (Upper Darby). Defensive Line: Will Gradisek (Conestoga); Brendan Granahan (Garnet Valley); Rob Monachello (Garnet Valley); Joe Thomas (Garnet Valley); Dennis Spaventa (Haverford); Noah Turner (Marple Newtown); Kyle Kelly (Marple Newtown); Matt Trainor (Marple Newtown); Justin McKeown (Marple Newtown); Mateos Ghebre (Penncrest); John Harrar (Strath Haven); Isaiah Coates (Radnor); Griff Monaghan (Radnor); Dan Archibong (Springfield); Linebacker: Robert Ackerman (Conestoga); Charlie Coslett (Garnet Valley); Billy Farrell (Haverford); Mike Berg (Lower Merion); Shane Jones (Penncrest)’ Shane Mulhern (Strath Haven); Dario Falcone (Radnor); Charlie Connolly (Radnor); Tom Becker (Springfield); Ricky Sterling (Springfield). Defensive Back: Jack Thomas (Harriton); Corey Hunt (Haverford); Josh Lafferty (Haverford); Marquis Gee (Lower Merion); Calvin Fielding (Upper Darby); Prosper Saydee (Upper Darby). Specialist: None.

Del Val League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Clarence Bowens (Chichester). Running Back: Quadir Gibson (Glen Mills). Receiver: Jawan Collins (Academy Park). Offensive Line: Quentin Frangelli (Interboro). Defensive Line: Semaj Robinson (Glen Mills) and D’Andre Dill (Chester). Glen Mills: Joshua Bryant (Glen Mills). Defensive Back: Clarence Buchanan (Academy Park). Specialist: Austin Wilson (Chichester).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Danny Mea (Interboro); Taylor Moors (Academy Park). Running Back: Chris Thomas (Interboro); Matt O’Chuida (Interboro); Jermaine Wesley (Academy Park); Raisheem Rochwell (Glen Mills); Ed Nelson Jr. (Chester). Receiver: Conner Adams (Interboro); Martin Frempong (Chichester); Amir Vaughn (Penn Wood); Jaquan Flood (Chester); Rashee Alexander (Chester). Offensive Line: Brandon Tynes (Interboro); Cameron Brooks (Interboro); Mike McMillan (Interboro); Jake Lancianese (Chichester); Andrew Wilson (Chichester); Damian Graham (Glen Mills). Defensive Line: Steve Royer (Interboro); Chase Pattinson (Interboro); Shaquan Cobb (Chichester); Maurice Martin (Chichester); Serge Filipskiy (Chichester); Togba Porte (Academy Park); Corey Simmons (Academy Park); Amaru Muhammad (Chester); Umar Degraphenreed (Chester). Linebacker: Kalie Kuyateh (Interboro); Danny Mea (Interboro); Hunter Thornton (Chichester); Jahmad Lockett (Chichester); Brion McNear (Chichester); Dazhon Miller (Academy Park).  Defensive Back: Chris Hummel (Interboro); Ray Argo (Chichester); Stevlin Collier (Glen Mills). Specialist: Nelson Warlo (Academy Park).

Independent Schools

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Devin Hill (Delco Christian). Running Back: Malik Twyman (Haverford School). Receiver: Keyveat Postell (Haverford School). Offensive Line: Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Kyle Winters (Delco Christian). Linebacker: Mickey Kober (Haverford School). Defensive Back: Justin Santilla (Cardinal O’Hara). Specialist: Christian Feliziani (Episcopal Academy).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Kevin Carter (Haverford School). Running Back: Amir Dorsey (Delco Christian); Jon Kester (Sun Valley). Receiver: None. Offensive Line: Anthony Reginelli (Haverford School); Brian Denoncour (Haverford School); Kyle Winters (Delco Christian); Logan Markley (Sun Valley); Tyler Schuck (Sun Valley). Defensive Line: Asim Richards (Haverford School); Colin Hurlbrink (Haverford School); Wali Sabree (Sun Valley); Linebacker: Bob Gibson (Episcopal Academy). Defensive Back: Damir Ruffin (Haverford School); Forry Smith (Haverford School). Dan Baker (Episcopal Academy) Specialist: Tom McNamara (Haverford School); Tim Brooks (Sun Valley).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply