DePhillipo remains unbeaten on way to title at 152

Joe DePhillipo walked away from the Catholic League wrestling championships with some impressive hardware Saturday.

The senior from Bonner-Prendergast went 3-0 to win the 152-pound title and earn the Class AAA Outstanding Wrestler award.

DePhillipo raised his record to 31-0. Two of his wins were by fall and the other was by a technical fall in the first period to advance to next week’s District 12 Tournament at La Salle College High School.

Teammate Tom Becker is also moving on. He went 2-2 and finished fourth at 195 pounds. He started his day with a 14-second pin.

Cardinal O’Hara had five wrestlers advance to the District 12 Tournament. Senior Mike Mahoney closed out his Catholic League career with a second-place finish at 120 pounds. He went 3-1 in the tournament and two of his wins were by fall. It was the first time in his career that Maloney advanced to the championship match.

Teammate Gaetano Simonelli took second at 220 pounds. He also went 3-1 in the tournament. Tyler Oliver was fourth at 126 pounds. Mike Lewis took fourth at 138 and Anthony Tamberella advanced at 285 despite finishing fifth. He moved on because the second- and third-place finishers were Class AA wrestlers.

Meanwhile, in the Pennsylvania Independent Schools Tournament, Haverford School had seven wrestlers advance to nationals. L.J. Barlow, the 2011-12 Daily Times Wrestler of the Year, picked up his second straight independent schools state title with a perfect mark at 195 pounds.

Chauncey Simmons took third at 285 for the Fords, while Rich Souders was fourth at 152. Julio delPeon was Episcopal Academy’s top finisher. He was third at 126 pounds.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply