Council Rock North finishes off with a win

NEWTOWN — Council Rock North (12-6 overall) won all but two bouts in its Feb. 4 dual meet at home with William Tennent.

The win leaves the Indians in second place in the Suburban One League (SOL) National Conference with a league mark of 6-1. Sister school CR South took the league crown with an unblemished 7-0 record.

Facing the league rival Panthers, the Rock received pins from sophomore Aidan Burke (113 pounds), junior Wesley Olsen (132), freshman Nick Nucero (138), junior Josh Shalinsky (170) and senior Kyle Thorpe (220).

The Indians also took forfeit wins by freshman Shane Thompson (106), junior Billy Storm (145), junior Tim Everett (182) and senior Mike Rademacher (195).

Also for CR North, freshman Gianncarlo Flores majored Tennent’s 126-pounder Matthew Palage, 10-2, senior Drew Burschlag (152) won by tech. fall over David McCoy, 16-1 in 4:17 and junior Luke Ely (160) won by tech fall over Nick Brancato, 15-0 in 5:51.

Tennent 120-pounder Kristian Courtney pinned CR North senior Tom Matarazzo and Antonio Fiocca (285) won by forfeit for the Panthers’ only points.

Now, the teams get ready for SOL National Conference championships set for Feb. 14 at Neshaminy.

Last year, Shalinsky captured a 152-pound SOL title wrestling at 152 pounds for Bensalem while Thorpe was a runner-up at 220 for North. Also in 2014, Burke (106), Matarazzo (113), Olsen (120) and Drew Burschlag (152) finished fourth for the Rock at SOLs while Rademacher (182) grabbed a third-place medal.

Of the group, Matarazzo placed second at districts at 113 pounds while Thorpe took third at 220. Both wrestlers advanced to South East-AAA regionals.

The Panthers had five wrestlers finish in the top four at SOLs last year though four of them were seniors and have since graduated. Tennent junior Cristobal Morales (195), who finished fourth at SOLs last year and second the year before, is 9-3 but has not wrestled since a Jan. 31 Central Bucks East Invitational consolation semifinal bout with CB East senior Evan Wilson, who was a league champion at 138 pounds, a runner-up in District 1 and also qualified for states.

Council Rock North 68

William Tennent 12

106 — Shane Thompson (CR) won by forfeit (6-0)

113 — Aidan Burke (CR) pinned Randy Knapp, 1:46 (12-0)

120 — Kristian Courtney (WT) pinned Tom Matarazzo, 1:49 (12-6)

126 — Gianncarlo Flores (CR) maj. dec. Matthew Palage, 10-2 (16-6)

132 — Wesley Olsen (CR) pinned Raymund Nieves, 1:40 (22-6)

138 — Nick Nucero (CR) pinned Josh Troy, 0:48 (28-6)

145 — Billy Storm (CR) won by forfeit (34-6)

152 — Drew Burschlag (CR) won by tech. fall over David McCoy, 16-1; 4:17 (39-6)

160 — Luke Ely (CR) won by tech. fall over Nick Brancato, 15-0; 5:51 (44-6)

170 — Josh Shalinsky (CR) pinned Tom McCoy, 2:41 (50-6)

182 — Timmy Everett (CR) won by forfeit (56-6)

195 — Mike Rademacher (CR) won by forfeit (62-6)

220 — Kyle Thorpe (CR) pinned Chris Ortiz, 3:05 (68-6)

285 — Antonio Fiocca (WT) won by forfeit (68-12)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply