Fleetwood’s Tyler Emge receives a Mini Max Award

Fleetwood Area High School senior Tyler Emge recently concluded an amazing season in which he rushed for 2,000 yards and scored 28 touchdowns. His efforts were rewarded last week when it was announced that Emge was one of 63 high school football players in the eastern half of the state to receive a 2014 Mini Max High School Award.

The 61 players selected are from schools located in Districts 1,3,11 and 12. Players were nominated by their coaches throughout the 2014 season and were evaluated based on a criteria that includes; football performance, academics, and community service.

The Mini Max Award recipients will be honored at a dinner to be held on Jan. 8, at the Drexelbrook Catering Ballroom in Drexel Hill. The awards dinner is open to the public and tickets are available on the Club’s website www.maxwellfootballclub.org.

The Maxwell Football Club will select one player from the group of Mini Max winners as the winner of the

Pennsylvania High School Player of the Year. The Pennsylvania High School Player of the Year will be announced on

Jan. 8 at the Awards Dinner.

The winner of the Pennsylvania Player of the Year award will be the candidates for the Club’s 30th

Jim Henry Award as the Outstanding Player in the region. The winner of the Jim Henry Award will be announced as

part of the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala which will be held in March 13, at the Tropicana

Casino Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. he MFC will also present its collegiate and professional awards at this event.

Recent winners of the Jim Henry Award include Mark Pyles (Lebanon H.S – Bucknell Univ.) Fran Walsh (Archbishop

Wood H.S – Villanova Univ.), Brendan Nosovitch (Allentown Central Catholic – University of South Carolina), Bill

Kim (Upper Dublin H.S – Johns Hopkins), Brad Herzlich (Conestoga H.S – Brown University), Daniel Persa

(Bethlehem Liberty H.S – Northwestern.), Brent Caprio (Mainland Regional H.S. — William & Mary), Steven Rizzo

(Audubon H.S. – Colgate), Pat Devlin (Downingtown East H.S. – Delaware), Ryan Greiser (Pennridge H.S. — Liberty

Univ.), Dan Connor (Strath Haven H.S. — Penn State) and Austin Scott (Parkland H.S — Penn State).

Emge rushed for 2,000 yards on 258 carries this season, averaging 7.75 yards per carry. During his junior season, Emge rushed for 1,124 yards and scored 16 tocuhdowns, and piled up 908 yards on 171 attempts as a sophomore, scoring four touchdwons.

In his high school football career, Emge ran for 4,097 yards, scoring 49 touchdowns.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply