Birthday boy Ghee partied in Interboro backfield

SPRINGFIELD — Part of what made Academy Park so successful in last Friday night’s big Del Val League win against Interboro was the defense’s ability to cause turnovers.

Senior end Dante Ghee played an important role in the creation of five Knights takeaways. On his 18th birthday, Ghee was the man. He racked up 12 tackles, recovered two fumbles, logged a sack and had a pair of hurries. Thanks partially to Ghee’s efforts, AP recorded its first shutout of the 2014 campaign, a 16-0 victory on the road against an Interboro team that had won three straight contests.

The Del Val League coaches recognized Ghee’s awesome night by naming him the weekly MVP at Monday night’s Delaware County Coaches Association meeting at Moe’s Grill in Springfield.

In the Central League, junior quarterback Christoff Minott did everything in his power to help Upper Darby to victory in last week’s 34-33 thriller against Springfield. While the Royals fell short, Minott rushed for 146 yards on 24 carries with three touchdowns, including a 64 yarder. Minott also enjoyed a solid night throwing the ball, completing 10 of 17 attempts for 187 yards and a score. The Central League coaches realized that, even in a losing cause, Minott deserved the honor of league MVP.

Dox Aitken didn’t post any tremendous offensive statistics for The Haverford School in its 22-6 decision over Malvern Prep. Instead, Aitken put forth a strong all-around game, particularly in the defensive secondary. Aitken’s 34-yard interception return helped seal the Fords’ fifth consecutive win and the pick-six was a big reason why he earned player of the week status among the Independent Schools coaches.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

Players of the Week — Quarterback: Brian Allen (Springfield). Running Back: Parke Schweiter (Conestoga). Receiver: Martin Dorsey (Conestoga). Offensive Line: Dan Acker (Ridley). Defensive Line: Len Watson (Conestoga). Linebacker: Diego Zubieta (Penncrest). Defensive Back: Pat Rowe (Garnet Valley). Specialist: Jack Diggory (Garnet Valley).

Honorable Mention — Quarterback: Tim Miller (Conestoga); Jack Donaghy (Haverford); Chris Leighton (Radnor); Jake Hoffman (Ridley). Running Back: Derrick West (Garnet Valley); Isaac Iglesias (Lower Merion); Adrian Sapnas (Marple Newtown); Matt Mckee (Marple Newtown); Desante Callis (Ridley); Malik Young (Ridley); Nick Milone (Strath Haven); Linder Divos (Upper Darby); Corey Manning (Conestoga). Receiver: D’Lyndon Coleman (Conestoga); Tom Cleary (Garnet Valley); Nick Costello (Haverford); Noah Turner (Marple Newtown); Jack Wilson (Radnor); Isaiah Bruce (Upper Darby). Offensive Line: Jonah Jackson (Penncrest); Pat Najmola (Ridley); Jesse Lesher (Ridley); Pete Deeb (Strath Haven); Scott Rucci (Upper Darby); Nataar Henderson (Upper Darby). Defensive Line: Joe Granahan (Garnet Valley); Sam Romanofsky (Haverford); Andrew Benecke (Penncrest); Kyle Walker (Penncrest); Antonio Petril (Ridley); Justin Fremont (Strath Haven). Linebacker: Eddie Jean (Conestoga); Pete Jean (Conestoga); Matt Prestipino (Conestoga); Tom Hourican (Garnet Valley); Bill Farrell (Haverford); Mike Berg (Lower Merion); Tommy Tice (Lower Merion); Gino DiCamillo (Marple Newtown); Ryan Kinnard (Penncrest); Chris Alyankian (Penncrest); Chris Dunn (Ridley); Todd Parker (Ridley); Denzil Lezenby (Strath Haven); Dario Falcone (Radnor); T.J. Hockersmith (Radnor); Dane Burke (Upper Darby). Defensive Back: Ryan Dutot (Conestoga); James Carter (Conestoga); Jack Diggory (Garnet Valley); Jordan O’Donnell (Harriton); Malik Ward (Lower Merion); Jasir Minor (Ridley); Rociado Jennings (Upper Darby); Jamir Walker (Upper Darby). Specialist: Connor Faith (Garnet Valley); Connor Hendrixson (Garnet Valley); Colby Schreiber (Garnet Valley); Steve Palis (Garnet Valley).

Del Val League

Players of the Week — Quarterback: Jose Santiago-Curet (Glen Mills). Running Back: Marquel McKay (Glen Mills). Receiver: Daniel Allen (Penn Wood). Offensive Line: Elijah Brooks (Glen Mills). Defensive Line: Dante Ghee (Academy Park). Linebacker: Anthony Balogh (Academy Park). Defensive Back: Teddy Wright (Academy Park). Specialist: Jahmad Lockett (Chichester).

HONORABLE MENTION — Quarterback: Sean Menold (Interboro); Allon Ruffin (Academy Park); Javon Terrell (Penn Wood); Nahmir Ishmail (Chester). Running Back: Nyeem Jones (Chester); Chris Thomas (Interboro); Kevin Miller (Chichester); Rahsaan Horsey (Glen Mills). Receiver: Rashee Alexander (Chester); Mark Everton (Interboro); Anthony Johnson (Glen Mills); Kwabriem Jenkins (Penn Wood); Jawan Collins (Academy Park). Offensive Line: Jason Miksit (Interboro); Zack Marvil (Chichester); Isaiah Bobo (Chichester); Hunter Thornton (Chichester); Nykeal Jalloh (Academy Park); Dan Kemp (Academy Park); Emmanuel Rosenburt (Penn Wood); Jonathan Jordan (Glen Mills); Milton Jones (Glen Mills); Kyshaun Ash (Chester); D’Andre Dill (Chester); Naim Little (Chester); Demond Hardy Jr. (Chester); Davon Lewis (Chester). Defensive Line: Steve Royer (Interboro); Jason Miksit (Interboro); Matt O’Chuida (Interboro); Colin McAllister (Chichester); Jeremy Dembry (Academy Park); Marquel McKay (Glen Mills); William Portel (Glen Mills); Kquran Matthews (Chester); Dazumar Jones (Chester); Wayne Gibbs (Chester); D’Andre Dill (Chester).Linebacker: Dan Mea (Interboro); Chris Thomas (Interboro); Dan Sullivan (Chichester); Terrance White (Academy Park); Jamil Myrick (Glen Mills); Devon Herman (Glen Mills); Antonio Mayfield (Glen Mills); Khalaf Jihad (Chester); Arlo Lee Jr. (Chester) Defensive Back: Clarence Buchanan (Academy Park); Quentin Christian (Glen Mills); Gregory Fuller (Glen Mills); Abraham Charles (Penn Wood); Ed Nelson Jr. (Chester); Rashee Alexander (Chester). Specialist: None.

Independent Schools

Players of the Week — Kevin Carter (Haverford School). Running Back: Nazim Trammell-Wells (Delco Christian). Receiver: Niles Easley (Haverford School). Offensive Line: Kyle Winters (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Eric Follman (Haverford School). Linebacker: Noah Lejman (Haverford School). Defensive Back: Dox Aitken (Haverford School). Specialist: Jack Soslow (Haverford School).

Honorable Mention — Quarterback: Collin DiGalbo (Bonner-Prendergast). Running Back: Phil Poquie (Haverford School); Joe Hartley-Vittoria (Bonner-Prendergast). Receiver: Tyler Higgins (Bonner-Prendergast). Offensive Line: Chauncey Simmons (Haverford School); Julian Jamgochian (Haverford School); Victor Berzinsky (Delco Christian); Giho Park (Delco Christian); Christian DiGalbo (Bonner-Prendergast); Lou Lombardo (Bonner-Prendergast). Defensive Line: Kyle Winters (Delco Christian); Mike Larsen (Bonner-Prendergast). Defensive Back: Chris Sabia (Haverford School); Jack Grim (Delco Christian); Alex Linton (Delco Christian); Tom Becker (Bonner-Prendergast); Ryan George (Bonner-Prendergast). Defensive Back: Shaun Douglas (Bonner-Prendergast); Joe Oquendo (Bonner-Prendergast). Specialist: Dox Aitken (Haverford School); Ryan Filman (Bonner-Prendergast).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply