Connect with us

Central League

Delco Football Coaches Association MVPs: Murtha was the man for Interboro

HAVERFORD >> Interboro’s amazing comeback win against Academy Park last Friday night surely deserves consideration for Delco game of the year honors.

If such an award existed, the Bucs’ victory for sole possession of first place in the Del Val League would garner plenty of votes. The Bucs were led by several stars, including running back/linebacker Chris Thomas, who rushed for 221 yards, and receiver/defensive back Shane Beckwith, who made a crazy touchdown catch to put Interboro in the lead late in the fourth quarter. The Daily Times video of Beckwith’s awesome catch even made headlines on

It could be said that quarterback Nate Murtha flew under the radar, but his performance was as vital to a Bucs victory as anyone else on the team. Murtha was recognized for throwing four touchdowns when he was selected Del Val League MVP at Monday night’s meeting of the Delaware County Coaches Association at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

Bonner & Prendergast’s defense shut down Conwell-Egan last Saturday night as Mike Larsen led the way with 10 tackles and three sacks in the Friars’ 20-7 decision. For his efforts, Larsen, a senior defensive lineman, was named MVP by the independent school coaches.

Penncrest’s Caleb Mahalik earned player of the week honors in the Central League. Mahalik rushed for a career-high 251 yards and five touchdowns in a 54-15 rout of Lower Merion.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Cade Stratton (Ridley). Running Back: Caleb Mahalik (Penncrest). Receiver: Cameron Mathes (Marple Newtown). Offensive Line: James George (Penncrest). Defensive Line: Rob Monachello (Garnet Valley). Linebacker: Ryan Gricco. Defensive Back: Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown) and Denny Nealon (Garnet Valley). Specialist: Denny Nealon (Garnet Valley) and Kyran Baker (Ridley).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Evan Atsaves (Strath Haven); Anthony Paoletti (Marple Newtown); Alden Mathes (Marple Newtown). Running Back: Hunter Mazur (Strath Haven); Zach Newlon (Strath Haven); Malik Young (Ridley); Ja’Den McKenzie (Springfield); Marlon Weathers (Marple Newtown); Colin Prigent (Harriton); Jack Horvath (Radnor); Jacob Buttermore (Garnet Valley); Mike Romanofsky (Haverford); Jack Farrell (Haverford). Receiver: Liam Wright (Ridley); Mark Ullman (Penncrest); Dash Dulgerian (Marple Newtown); Rashon Cooke (Lower Merion); Zelik Wooten (Garnet Valley); Matt Corbett (Haverford). Offensive Line: Ben McFetridge (Strath Haven); Rob DuBois (Strath Haven); John Sheldon (Ridley); Zack Wagner (Ridley); Jack Hutt (Ridley); Mike Wilson (Penncrest); Matt Rigolizzo (Radnor); Chad Hrivnak (Garnet Valley). Defensive Line: John Harrar (Strath Haven); Sean Crowley (Ridley); Nick DePrinzio (Ridley); Ronan Carter (Conestoga) Mike Goolsby (Penncrest); Brian Dewar (Penncrest); Justin Shields (Springfield); Cooper Maas (Marple Newtown); Kyle Tobin (Marple Newtown); Jack Fallows (Marple Newtown); Nick DiIorio (Haverford). Linebacker: Ethan Belville (Strath Haven); Ryan Morris (Strath Haven); Tate Kienzle (Conestoga); Jackson Niness (Conestoga); Shane Jones (Penncrest); Pat Clemens (Springfield); Luke Jelus (Marple Newtown); Jack Rosenfeld (Harriton); Harry Thomas (Harriton); Zach Wade (Radnor); Dave Wood (Garnet Valley); Jack Farrell (Haverford); Jordan Mosley (Haverford). Defensive Back: Mekhi Hill (Strath Haven); Thomas Foster (Strath Haven); Sam Ferkler (Ridley); John Klee (Haverford); Chris Trainor (Haverford); Corey Hunt (Haverford). Specialist: Allen Martin (Ridley); Drew Maiers (Garnet Valley).

Del Val League

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Nate Murtha (Interboro). Running Back: Chris Thomas (Interboro). Receiver: Rashaad Shaw (Chichester). Offensive Line: Quentin Frangelli. Defensive Line: Kenny Ngaima (Penn Wood). Linebacker: Quadir Gibson (Glen Mills). Defensive Back: Connor Adams (Interboro). Specialist: Justin Stewart (Glen Mills).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Taylor Moors (Academy Park); Javon Lindsey-Terrell (Penn Wood). Running Back: Dazhon Miller (Academy Park); Teddy Wright (Academy Park); Devan Freeman (Chester). Receiver: Kareem Burton (Academy Park); Braheem Bishop (Chester); Jamese Byrd (Chichester); Isaiah Council (Penn Wood); Shane Beckwith (Interboro); Connor Adams (Interboro); Kalie Kuyateh (Interboro). Offensive Line: Chris Thomas (Academy Park); Dan Kemp (Academy Park); Eric Pirl (Glen Mills); Jody Rudy (Glen Mills); Mike Rinick (Chichester); Eric Weah (Chichester); Ronald Goodman (Penn Wood); Mike MacMillan (interboro); Cam Brooks (Interboro); Manny Obaseime (Interboro); Noah Nicholl (Interboro). Defensive Line: Manny Obaseime (Interboro); Tarjah Faikai (Interboro); Anthony Zizza (Interboro); Jamar-queeze Newsome (Glen Mills); Hasson Elliott (Glen Mills); Daryl Williams (Glen Mills); Bomani Branson (Glen Mills); Dajuan Watson (Chester); Serge Filipskiy (Chichester); Tyquon Brodie (Penn Wood). Linebacker: Azeez Badmus (Academy Park); Jordan Eberhardt (Glen Mills); Jeremiah Jefferson (Glen Mills); Rashaad Shaw (Chichester); Zackiey Sheriff (Penn Wood); Kaylie Kuyateh. Defensive Back: Matt MacMullen (Interboro); Shane Beckwith (Interboro); Teddy Wright (Academy Park); Justin Allen (Glen Mills); Samuel Ongwae (Glen Mills); Andre Dean (Chichester); Omari Smith (Chichester). Specialist: None.

Independent Schools

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Evan Raiburn (Bonner & Prendergast). Running Back: Joe Hartley-Vittoria (Bonner & Prendergast). Receiver: Tom Millison (Bonner & Prendergast). Offensive Line: Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian). Defensive Line: Mike Larsen (Bonner & Prendergast). Linebacker: Matt Fontana (Bonner & Prendergast) and Luke Gutowski (Delco Christian). Defensive Back: Brandon Bettole (Bonner & Prendergast) and Peter Grieb (Delco Christian). Specialist: Chris Rushton (Episcopal Academy).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: None. Running Back: Luke Gutowski (Delco Christian); Chris Chung (Delco Christian); Mallik Twyman (Haverford School). Receiver: None. Offensive Line: Anthony Sabol (Archbishop Carroll); Peter Solomon (Haverford School). Defensive Line: Milt Mamula (Episcopal Academy); Asim Richards (Haverford School); Malik Geathers (Haverford School). Linebacker: Sean Morris (Bonner & Prendergast); Brian Snow (Episcopal Academy). Defensive Back: Bobby Ferry (Archbishop Carroll); Dee Wil Barlee (Episcopal Academy); Dan Baker (Episcopal Academy). Specialist: None.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent News

More in Central League