Two from Haverford, Strath Haven highlight All-Central field hockey

Two Delaware County teams qualified for the District One field hockey playoffs this fall. Accordingly, those schools are the only two from Delco that warrant two spots each on the All-Central League first team.

Haverford, which garnered the No. 12 seed in the Class AAA tournament and advanced to the second round before being bounced by states qualifier Conestoga, placed senior midfielder Tess Horan and junior defender Lea VanLuvender on the first team. Strath Haven, which snuck in as the No. 28 seed before meeting Conestoga in the first round, also received two honorees: Defender Mizuki Davis and midfielder Katie Capalbo. The sophomore Capalbo is the only freshman or sophomore on a first team dominated by eight seniors.

Also making the first team from Delco is a trio of forwards: Radnor’s Katie Quinn, Ridley’s Emily Johnson and Springfield’s Hannah Sweeny.

The first list of first and second teamers plus honorable mentions is below.

(Note: All-Central teams are selected by league coaches. The Daily Times no input whatsoever on the selections.)

First Team

Casey Allen, Conestoga, Sr., M
Tess Horan, Haverford, Sr., M
Robyn Clark, Harriton, Sr., M
Meredith Ross, Conestoga, Jr., F
Katie Quinn, Radnor, Sr., F
Emma Unger, Lower Merion, Sr., M
Mizuki Davis, Strath Haven, Sr., D
Katie Capalbo, Strath Haven, So., M
Emily Johnson, Ridley, Jr., F
Lea VanLuvender, Haverford, Jr., D
Hannah Sweeny, Springfield, Sr., F
Laura Lasprogata, Harriton, Sr., G

Second Team

Kiley Allen, Conestoga, So., M/D
Kerriann McGee, Upper Darby, Sr., F
Colleen Bradley, Garnet Valley, Sr., F
Marina Parson, Penncrest, Sr., D
Allison D’Ignazio, Penncrest, Sr., M
Hannah Breslin, Haverford, Sr., F
Ashley Roberts, Lower Merion, So., F
Charlotte De Vries, Conestoga, Fr., M
Katie Wakiyama, Radnor, Sr., M
Maddie Stabinski, Strath Haven, Sr., F
Brooke Nasella, Ridley, Sr., F
Haley Morris, Harriton, Sr., D
Gia DeAngelis, Marple Newtown, So., F
Gillian Gunn, Strath Haven, Jr., G

Honorable Mention

Laney Hussey, Marple Newtown, Sr., D
Kylie Pfizenmayer, Springfield, Sr., M
Megan Phillips, Haverford, Fr., M
Laura Winters, Haverford, Jr., F
Kelly Flynn, Ridley, Sr., D
Jackie Daniels, Garnet Valley, Jr., M
Leona Fisher, Lower Merion, So., D
Laynie Kennedy, Garnet Valley, Sr., F
Roisin O’Sullivan, Springfield, Sr., D
Samantha Bruttomesso-Clarke, Lower Merion, Jr., M
Sophie Grady, Harriton, Jr., M
Carly Adams, Harriton, Sr., F
Erin Redden, Upper Darby, Sr., M
Caitlyn Johnson, Ridley, Sr., G

Leave a Reply