Gwynedd Mercy’s Alaina McVeigh, Souderton’s Lauren Kenah among the Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media First Team All-Area selections

The 2020 field hockey season wasn’t a long one in the Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media area, but local teams found plenty of success.

Plymouth Whitemarsh, Gwynedd Mercy Academy and Springfield (Montco) all played for District 1 championships while Methacton, Dock Mennonite Academy and Jenkintown reached the semifinals.

Archbishop Carroll became the first Philadelphia Catholic League team to play for a state championship when they reached the PIAA-2A title game. Lansdale Catholic also represented the PCL with a PIAA-A state playoff berth.

The league championships and postseason runs wouldn’t be possible without extraordinary individual efforts from area athletes. The top players will be honored as All-Area selections.

The SOL Liberty Division totaled four first-team selections. PW, which went 10-0 for the league title, is represented by seniors Ava Borkowski and Kaleigh Missimer. Borkowski led the team in scoring for the fourth straight year with 31 goals while Missimer totaled 17 goals and 15 assists. Wissahickon senior Aiden Drabick and junior Alli Wood also made the first team. Drabick posted 16 goals and 12 assists while Wood stopped 112 of 125 shots in the cage.

North Penn’s Maddie Waldspurger and Souderton’s Lauren Kenah represent the SOL Colonial Division. Waldspurger, a junior, was the Knights most consistent player. She played a key defensive role by being a flier on corners and marking the opponent’s top player. Offensively she used her vision and passing skills to put the Knights in position to score. Kenah, a junior, was a first team All-League selection for the second time. She scored 11 goals and tallied four assists in 10 games.

Two first-team selections are from the AACA. Gwynedd Mercy Academy junior Alaina McVeigh totaled 34 goals and 14 assists in 11 games, reaching the 100-goal milestone in a District 1-2A semifinal win over Upper Perkiomen. She also impacted games defensively, keeping opponents from getting shots off on corners. Mount St. Joseph’s Megan Maransky led the Magic with 15 goals and added nine assists and two defensive saves. The senior has been a leader since she was a freshman and served as a co-captain in 2020.

Lower Moreland’s Taryn Mayer represents the SOL Freedom Division. The senior was a first team All-League selection and led the team in goals, points and assists. Mayer, a four-year varsity player, is the program leader in goals.

Alexa Kratz earns a spot after leading Methacton to the District 1-3A semifinals. The team captain finished her fourth varsity season with nine goals, five assists and two defensive saves. She found the back of the cage in eight of 15 games for the Warriors.

Dock Mennonite’s Kylie Godshall led the Pioneers to a 12-0 record in BAL play, where they didn’t allow a single goal. A tri-captain and team MVP, Godshall finished her career with 24 goals and 15 assists.

Below are the complete first and second teams and honorable mentions.

First team

F Kylie Godshall, Dock Mennonite

F Megan Maransky, Mount St. Joseph Academy

F Ava Borkowski, Plymouth Whitemarsh

M Alaina McVeigh, Gwynedd Mercy Academy

M Taryn Mayer, Lower Moreland

M Alexa Kratz, Methacton

M Maddie Waldspurger, North Penn

M Kaleigh Missimer, Plymouth Whitemarsh

M Lauren Kenah, Souderton

M Aiden Drabick, Wissahickon

GK Alli Wood, Wissahickon

Second team

F Alex Wenz, Gwynedd Mercy Academy

F Anya Kochanowicz, Springfield (Montco)

Field Emily Amsden, Pennridge

Field Ang Borisow, Souderton

Field Deana Campbell, Archbishop Wood

M Carleigh Connors, Archbishop Carroll

M Meghan McGinley, Mount St. Joseph Academy

D Aly Campbell, Abington

D Lauren Grello, Lansdale Catholic

D Mikayla DeMichele, Upper Dublin

GK Courtney Keith, Archbishop Carroll

Honorable mentions

Abington: Devan DiMaria, Camryn Stewart

CB West: Julia Bunch, Claire Engebreth, Brooke Goldbeski

Dock Mennonite: Olivia Yetter, Celeste Dertine, Ainsley Moyer, Olivia Zaskoda

Gwynedd Mercy Academy: Samantha Saxon

Jenkintown: Carly Mulvaney, Tanner Lafferty

Hatboro-Horsham: Jordan Brown, Raven Hiller

Lansdale Catholic: Grace Shragher, Maddie Bogle

Lower Moreland: Linda Tang

Methacton: Elise DeWan, Bayla Plower, Kristen Riddell, Jess Serafin, Lily DeWan

Mount St. Joseph Academy: Erin McGinley, Kelly Moore, Katie Convey, Campbell Donovan

North Penn: Erin O’Donnell, Megan Albert, Eleni Kountroubis

Pennridge: Emily Amsden, Lexi Dinsmore

Plymouth Whitemarsh: Hailey Copestick, Molly Lynch

Springfield (Montco): Maddie Yoder, Kate Wojeck, Annie Coll, Erin Roy

Souderton: Taylor Weaver, Autumn Hunter

Upper Dublin: Peyton Kullman

Upper Moreland: Cayden Weist, Madison Trzaska

Wissahickon: Brynne Miller, Alena Doll

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply