Connect with us


Reporter/Times Herald 2019 All-Area Football Teams

North Penn’s RJ MacNamara (15) brings the pressure against CB East’s Anthony Giordano (12) during their game on Saturday, Sept, 21, 2019. (James Beaver/For MediaNews Group)

There was plenty of success for The Reporter/Times Herald/Montgomery Media football teams in the 2019 season.

Archbishop Wood and Cheltenham are set to play for the PIAA Class 5A championship — the District 1 champ Panthers in the state final for the first time while District 12 champ Wood is making yet another trip to Hershey.

Central Bucks West and Abington each claimed outright SOL conference crowns — West the Continental, the Galloping Ghosts the National — while West, North Penn and Plymouth Whitemarsh all reached the District 1-6A quarterfinals.

Pope John Paul II won the District 1/12 Class 3A title while Bishop McDevitt advanced to the state 2A quarters.

The large amount of success for teams showed how many talented local players there were on the field in  to fill the 2019 All-Area First Team.

CB West’s Jack Fallon, the 2019 Football Athlete of the Year, ran for 1,749 and 24 touchdowns and is joined in the backfield by North Penn Khalani Eaton, who ended a superb sophomore year with 1,592 and 19 TDs on the ground.

Quarterback Tamir Berthau eclipsed 1,000 yards in both passing and rushing yards for Abington. At receiver, Justin Kormos caught 12 TDs for PAC Frontier Division champ PJP II while Jerry Griffen-Batchler was a playmaker for a 7-2 Germantown Academy side. Boston College commit Hans Lillis at tight end added to the GA offensive attack that put up 37.6 points per game.

Juniors Ryan Wills (La Salle) and Nate Felix (Cheltenham) and seniors Ryan McKenna (CB West), Trey Evangelisto (North Penn) and Charley Mininger (Archbishop Wood) make up the first team offensive line. Lansdale Catholic kicker Brendan Menges’ season was highlighted by his winning 33-yard field goal against McDevitt.

On defense, North Penn, La Salle, Bishop McDevitt and Archbishop Wood each had two first-team picks — RJ Macnamara (line) and Nate Brown (linebacker) for the Knights, Ryan Savage (line) and Dillon Trainor (linebacker) for the Explorers, Lonnie Rice (defensive back) and Tyrone Fowler (line) for McDevitt while Robert Jackson (line) and Shane Collier (linebacker) helped Wood in another deep state run.

Joining Rice in the first team secondary is Cheltenham’s TJ Harris, Souderton’s Andrew Vince and CB West’s Nick Olear while Souderton senior Will Leyland earned first team punter.

2019 All-Area Football Teams

QB: Tamir Berthau (Sr., Abington)
RB: Khalani Eaton (So., North Penn)
RB: Jack Fallon (Sr., Central Bucks West)
WR: Justin Kormos (Jr., Pope John Paul II)
WR: Jerry Griffen-Batchler (Jr., Germantown Academy)
OL: Nate Felix (Jr., Cheltenham)
OL: Ryan Wills (Jr., La Salle)
OL: Ryan McKenna (Sr., Central Bucks West)
OL: Trey Evangelisto (Sr., North Penn)
OL: Charley Mininger (Sr., Archbishop Wood)
TE: Hans Lillis (Sr., Germantown Academy)
K: Brandon Menges (Sr., Lansdale Catholic)
DL: RJ Macnamara (Sr., North Penn)
DL: Ryan Savage (Sr., La Salle)
DL: Robert Jackson (Jr., Archbishop Wood)
DL: Tyrone Fowler (Sr., Bishop McDevitt)
LB: Dillon Trainor (Sr., La Salle)
LB: Nate Brown (Sr., North Penn)
LB: Shane Collier (Jr., Archbishop Wood)
DB: Andrew Vince (Sr., Souderton)
DB: Nick Olear, (Sr., Central Bucks West)
DB: Lateef “T.J.” Harris (Sr., Cheltenham)
DB: Lonnie Rice (Sr., Bishop McDevitt)
P: Will Leyland (Sr., Souderton)

QB: Kamal Gray, (Sr., Pope John Paul II)
RB: Brian Dresnin (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh)
RB: Danny Dutkiewicz (Sr., Lansdale Catholic)
WR: Kenneth Grandy (Sr., North Penn)
WR: Steve Skarbeck (Sr., Pope John Paul II)
OL: Cam McQueen (Jr., North Penn)
OL: Jack Kelly (Sr., Lansdale Catholic)
OL: Billy Everitt (Jr., Abington)
OL: Jeff Decker (Jr., Germantown Academy)
OL: Owen Coyle (Jr., Archbishop Wood)
TE: Ethan Smerecki (Sr., Souderton)
K: Will Leyland (Sr., Souderton)
DL: Cory Keim (Sr., North Penn)
DL: Jordan Colazzo (Sr., Hatboro-Horsham)
DL: Matt Dobrowolski (Sr., Pope John Paul II)
DL: Dom D’Alessio (Sr., Archbishop Wood)
LB: Kevin Gianoni (Sr., Lansdale Catholic)
LB: Abdul Carter (So, La Salle)
LB: Tristan Hulme, (Sr., Central Bucks West)
DB: Taiyan Lobban (Sr., Upper Merion)
DB: Shane Harkins, (Sr., Germantown Academy)
DB: Kevon White, (Sr., North Penn)
DB: Nate Edwards (Sr., Cheltenham)
P: Jake Gandolfo (Sr., La Salle)


Quarterback: Adonis Hunter (Sr., Cheltenham); Jordan Longino (Jr., Germantown Academy); Larry McLaughlin (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); LJ Phillips (Jr., Lansdale Catholic); Lonnie Rice (Sr., Bishop McDevitt).

Running Back: Jamir Barnes (Sr., Cheltenham); Sam Brown (So., La Salle); Cardel Pigford, (Jr., Archbishop Wood); Tom Santiago (Sr., William Tennent); Anthony Swenda (Sr., Upper Merion); DeAndre Wakefield (Sr., Souderton); Andrick Wesh (Sr., Abington).

Wide Receiver: Caleb Baker (Jr., Abington); Jimmy Casey (Jr., Lansdale Catholic); Larry Dickerson (Sr., Methacton); Andrew McHugh (So., Archbishop Wood); Elias Danzler (Jr., Pennridge); Emmanuel Sia (So., Bishop McDevitt); Evan Spann (Sr., North Penn); Brad Vespe (Sr., La Salle); Corey Wright-Downing (Fr., Bishop McDevitt).

Tight End: Marc Clayton (Sr., Upper Merion); Dylan Duran (Jr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Tristan Hulme (Sr., Central Bucks West); Dylan Walker (Sr., Pope John Paul II).

Offensive Line: Michael Cuozzo (Sr., Central Bucks West): Zach Davis (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Hakim Dodson (Sr., Bishop McDevitt); Mike Evangelista (Sr., Lansdale Catholic); Kevin Gianoni (Sr., Lansdale Catholic); Eli Kantor (Jr., Pennridge); Phil Long (Sr., Pennridge); Tim McNally (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Aman Orlena (Sr., Upper Dublin); Ryan Schernecke (Jr., Upper Moreland).

Defensive Line: Alex Bell (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Derek Cosenza (Jr., William Tennent); Jake Davis (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Aonghas Evanick (Jr., Souderton); Jack Ferguson (Jr., Pennridge); Sam Graham (Sr., La Salle); Ryan McKenna (Sr., Central Bucks West); Charley Mininger (Sr., Archbishop Wood); Darrenmeen Xayamoungkhoun (Jr., Cheltenham).

Linebacker: Raejon Benjamin (Sr., Wissahickon); Dai-Jahn Dukes (Sr., Upper Moreland); Jacob Horton (Jr., Souderton); Nahji Logan (Sr., Hatboro-Horsham); Marc Macione (Sr., Abington); Christian Pierce (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Rashidi Santos (Sr., Norristown).

Defensive Back: Thomas Bellmon (Sr., Norristown); Micah Bootman (Jr., Upper Dublin); Ryan DiVergilis (Sr., Archbishop Wood); Jack Fallon (Sr., Central Bucks West); Oreck Frazier (Jr., Abington); Roman Hockaday (Jr., Abington); TJ Meachum (Sr., La Salle); Christopher Pierce (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Griffin Zobel (Sr., La Salle).

Kicker: Nick Choi (Sr., Plymouth Whitemarsh); Andrew Moreland (Sr., Cheltenham); Bailey Moyer (Sr., Central Bucks West).

Punter: Nick DiDomenico (Sr., Hatboro-Horsham); Reece Gibbs (Sr., Abington): Brandon Menges (Sr., Lansdale Catholic).



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10 + 18 =


Recent News


More in Football