Connect with us


Diamond gems: Presenting 2019 All-Main Line softball teams

The Main Line high school softball scene this past spring featured a strong lineup of team. Conestoga (20-4) won the Central League title and advanced to the PIAA state tournament for the first time since 2007. Haverford (18-7 overall, 14-2 Central League), like Conestoga, advanced to the PIAA state tourney.. The Inter-Ac featured Episcopal Academy (15-6), Academy of Notre Dame (13-6, second place in Inter-Ac and PAISAA tournament) and Baldwin School (9-8). Other strong teams included Villa Maria Academy (13-6) and Shipley (11-3), which posted an 11-1 record in the Friends’ Schools League and advanced to the FSL championship final.
The All-Main Line high school softball teams are selected by the coaches. Because Main Line Media News covers 19 high schools, the Main Line Media News sports staff limits the number of sports available to first team, second team and honorable mention – but follows the priority of the coaches’ selections.
What follows are the 2019 All-Main Line high school softball teams:
Grace Jackson, Academy of Notre Dame – Junior pitcher, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, struck out 137 batters with an ERA of 2.11, and was a potent hitter, batting .688, with 42 hits, 14 walks and only three strikeouts.
Caroline Adams, Academy of Notre Dame – Junior shortstop, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, batted .533 with 32 hits, seven walks, 16 runs scored and 11 RBI’s, with only six strikeouts. Also displayed a fine glove at shortstop.
Hanna Maier, Baldwin School – Junior catcher, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, batted .344 with slugging percentage of .643 and was noted for her timely hitting. Gave up only five stolen bases all season, blocked the plate well and picked off numerous runners.
Olivia Cepelik, Conestoga – Senior shortstop, a first team All-Central League selection, was the Pioneers’ best defensive player, and batted .405 with five doubles, three triples and three home runs along with 18 RBIs. Batted .545 in the postseason.
Lauren Lofland, Conestoga – Junipr pitcher, a first team All-Central League selection, posted a 17-4 record and 1.67 ERA, striking out 139 batters while allowing only 13 walks.
Hailee Moran, Episcopal Academy – Sophomore center fielder/shortstop/catcher, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, was noted for her excellent versatility, and was a fine leadoff hitter, batting .400 with an on-base percentage of .478. Moved from center field to shortstop with no dropoff in defensive excellence.
Emma Tansky, Episcopal Academy – Sophomore pitcher, a first team All-Inter-Ac pick, posted an ERA of 1.26, striking out 59 and walking only 10 while displaying an excellent repertoire of pitches. Batted .377 and was second on the team in stolen bases (behind Hailee Moran).
Belle Volatile, Episcopal Academy – Junior third baseman/shortstop, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, batted .367 with three doubles, three triples and 17 RBIs, posting an on-base percentage of .426. A two-time Carpenter Cup selection.
Ali Murphy, Haverford High – Senior center fielder and captain, a first team All-Central League selection for the fourth year in a row, was the Fords’ MVP, batting .610 with a slugging percentage of .896 and 14 stolen bases. For her Ford career, she compiled 150 hits, 121 runs scored, only 13 strikeouts and .513 batting average.
Emma Taylor, Haverford High – Freshman pitcher posted 14-5 record with 2.22 ERA, striking out 82 batters in 119 2/3 innings. Batted .295 and received second team All-Central League honors.
Audrey Rosenblum, Radnor – Senior shortstop and second-year captain, a first team All-Central League selection for the third year in a row, batted .375 as a leadoff hitter with seven extra base hits, 11 stolen bases and 17 runs scored. Earned 11 varsity letters at Radnor, five as captain.
Abbie DeSantis, Shipley – Sophomore pitcher, a first team All-Friends’ Schools League selection, was the Gators’ MVP, posting a 1.64 ERA and striking out 93 batters in 64 innings pitched. Batted .500 with 17 hits, 16 RBIs and a .765 slugging percentage.
Lexi Wojtelwicz, Shipley – Junior shortstop and captain, a first teawm All-Friends’ Schools League selection, batted .405 with 15 hits, 19 runs scored, 11 RBIs and a .649 slugging percentage.
Alyssa Viscardo, Villa Maria Academy – Senior pitcher received the Hurricanes’ Most Valuable Player award, striking out 181 batters (including her 500th career K), posting a 2.31 ERA and earning 13 wins. An All-AACA first team selection, she also batted .333 with 21 hits and 11 RBIs. Will play softball for the University of Hartford.
Riley Miller, Villa Maria Academy – Senior center fielder, a first team All-AACA selection, batted .500 with 21 runs scored and 11 RBIs. Was an excellent base stealer, nabbing 10 bases for a steal percentage of .833.

Academy of Notre Dame – Bianca Rossato, junior first baseman/third baseman; Marisa Bruno, freshman third baseman; Sophie Haub, senior catcher.
Baldwin School – Blake Landow, freshman outfielder/slapper; Tessa Pearlstein, sophomore shortstop/third baseman.
Barrack Hebrew Academy – Dayna Felger, freshman shortstop.
Conestoga – Libby Winters, freshman first baseman; Jenny Noll, senior center fielder; Claire Overton, junior second baseman.
Episcopal Academy – Elliana Hopple, sophomore catcher; Karen Xiao, freshman pitcher/outfielder.
Friends’ Central – Zoe Shoemaker, senior shortstop/pitcher.
Harriton – Xochitl Krumbiegel, senior center fielder.
Haverford High – Amber Moscoe, senior second baseman; Tess Smiley, sophomore shortstop; Haley Greenwald, sophomore catcher.
Merion Mercy Academy – Madison Boylan, senior second baseman; Kiersten Krouse, junior pitcher/outfielder/second baseman.
Shipley – Grace Spino, senior center fielder.
Villa Maria Academy – Fran Delviscio, senior shortstop; Ana Ciarrocchi, senior second baseman.

Baldwin School – Georgia Dahm, senior first baseman; Maura Smith, sophomore pitcher/shortstop; Julia Kait, senior outfielder.
Barrack Hebrew Academy – Ruthie Meles, junior third baseman.
Conestoga – Emme Rycyzyn, senior catcher; Faith Walker, senior third baseman.
Harriton – Anna Walsh, senior shortstop; Ava Paternoster, junior pitcher.
Haverford High – Brooke McKeown, sophomore left fielder.
Lower Merion – Hannah Charlson, senior pitcher; Kylie Pacchione, junior third baseman; Margot Oxman, freshman catcher.
Radnor – Sophia Royle, senior centerfielder; Emma Gibbons, sophomore outfielder.

– Archbishop Carroll did not submit an All-Main Line softball nomination ballot.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Recent News