Connect with us


Four Fords headline All-Central field hockey squad

Conestoga's Carly Hynd, left, seen in a game against Downingtown West, was named to the All-Central field hockey team. (DFM File)

The nexus of Central League field hockey power in 2018 was undoubtedly on the Main Line. Haverford and Conestoga both garnered top-7 seeds in the District 1 Class 3A tournament, while Radnor entered the Class 2A tournament as the top seed.

In a nod to that team success, those schools monopolized eight of 11 spots on the All-Central team, as voted by league coaches.

Haverford placed four on the first team, a just reward for a 16-2-1 season. Sydney Corcoran, Carly Gannon, Megan Phillips and goalie Mary Grace DePlato are all on the first team. Radnor’s Olivia DeCain and Page Lowry garnered first-team nods, as did Conestoga’s Charlotte de Vries and Carly Hynd. Garnet Valley’s Tina Rawa and Lauren Weaver also landed on the first team.

The full list of honorees is below.

Note: All-Central teams are selected by league coaches. The Daily Times and has no influence in the process.

First Team

Sydney Corcoran, Haverford
Olivia DeCain, Radnor
Charlotte De Vries, Conestoga
Carly Gannon, Haverford
Carly Hynd, Conestoga
Page Lowry, Radnor
Ashton Odiorne, Harriton
Megan Phillips, Haverford
Tina Rawa, Garnet Valley
Lauren Weaver, Garnet Valley
Mary Grace DePlato, Haverford

Second Team

Ava Abatangelo, Marple Newtown
Gillian Brennan, Strath Haven
Kylie Gioia, Marple Newtown
Margaret Howe-Consiglio, Penncrest
Kelsey Knapp, Haverford
Bridgid Lowry, Radnor
Meghan Lynch, Ridley
Abby Race, Penncrest
Caroline O’Brien, Conestoga
Arden Turner, Springfield
Claire Wolfe, Garnet Valley
Anna Lemaster, Marple Newtown

Honorable Mention

Conestoga: Maia Dechario, Sarah Rogalski
Garnet Valley: Kendall DiCamillo, Megan Finnegan, Simi Kolodka
Harriton: Kat Berberian, Grace Dwyer, Lucy Dwyer
Haverford: Ellie Kent
Lower Merion: Emma Noel, Milli Vera
Marple Newtown: Morgan Battista
Penncrest: Sadie King
Radnor: Barbara Civitella, Genevive Mehra, Phoebe Proctor
Ridley: Mary Kate Cowan, Megan Frame, Julia Meeley
Springfield: Bianca Caceci, Eliza Donaldson, Sarah Lofland, Dana Mirigliano
Strath Haven: Tess Bailey, Ashley Hassell, Sarah McAndrews
Upper Darby: Maria Ngam, Marie Smith, Sara Sullivan

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Recent News