Wrestling: Interboro edges Penn Wood on Miksit thriller

The outcome between Interboro and Penn Wood came down to the 220-pound match and Elijah Miksit made sure the visiting Bucs went home happy.

Miksit’s takedown with 10 seconds to go gave Interboro a thrilling 37-34 victory over the Patriots in Del Val League wrestling action Wednesday.

The two points gave Miksit a 7-5 victory over Nasir Overton-Wells. Dylan White’s pin at 152 helped the Bucs take four of the last five bouts. Joe Forte (170) and Anthony Zizza (182) had the other wins in that stretch for Interboro.

Ryan Jackson came up with a big pin at 145 for Penn Wood. An 11-2 win by Penn Wood’s Dan Dumas at 195 tied the match, 34-34, and set up the final-bout showdown.

In the Central League:

Penncrest 42, Conestoga 33 >> There were three undefeated teams in the Central League going into the night. Now there are only two.

The Lions used four wins by pin, another by tech fall and one by major decision to knock the Pioneers out of a first place tie with Upper Darby and Garnet Valley.

Ty D’Ortone (126), Breandon Stocku (132), Ryan Stocku (152) and Dimitri Partsanakis (220) were the winners by fall. Partsanakis needed just 49 seconds to put Matthew Palomo on his back. Anthony Chero (170) was the winner by tech fall, while David Stevens scored a major decision at 160. Mike Wilson (182) and Trevor Beresford (113) were the other winners for the Lions.

The win moves Penncrest into a tie for second place with the Pioneers. Upper Darby has three league matches left, while Garnet Valley has four Central League matches on its schedule. The teams are slated to square off Feb. 8 at Garnet Valley.

In the Catholic League:

Archbishop Ryan 71, Archbishop Carroll 12 >> Seamus Fleming and Aidan Rodgers won by pin at 170 and 182 pounds, respectively, for the Patriots.

In nonleague action:

Great Valley 52, Episcopal Academy 27 >> Luke Wilson’s major decision at 138 pounds sealed the deal for the Patriots. Great Valley won the last three bouts by forfeit.

Paul McLaughlin (220), Blair Orr (113), Alex Sladek (126) and Sam Stickley (152) all won by fall for the Churchmen.  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply