Delco Football Coaches MVPs: O’Hara was a star in Lions’ first win

HAVERFORD >> When Cardinal O’Hara found itself in a slugfest with Neumann-Goretti last Friday night, its appropriately named rookie quarterback stood tall and guided the Lions to their first victory of the season.

Tommy O’Hara engineered six scoring drives and accounted for five touchdowns and 233 yards through the air on the way to a 39-36 triumph. For his performance, which included a 14-of-23 passing line and 42 yards on the ground, O’Hara was selected player of the week by the Independent Schools coaches at Monday night’s Delaware County Coaches Association meeting at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

The Central League had several MVP candidates, but it was Upper Darby’s Isaiah Bruce who bested them all thanks to a remarkable showing in the Royals’ 33-29 decision over Ridley. The county’s leading rusher went off for a career-high 217 yards and four touchdowns. Bruce also had a receiving TD to his credit. Bruce, with 618 yards on the ground and 11 total touchdowns, is the county’s most dangerous offensive player through the first four weeks of the season.

Chichester’s Kevin Miller earned MVP honors in the Del Val League for a second consecutive week. The senior running back went off for a career-high 246 yards and four TDs as the Eagles reached the half-century mark in scoring for the second straight week, a 55-15 dismantling of Nativity BVM, en route to their third win.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Cade Stratton (Ridley). Running Back: Isaiah Bruce (Upper Darby). Receiver: Kyle Long (Springfield). Offensive Line: Shawn Page (Upper Darby). Defensive Line: Noah Turner (Marple Newtown). Linebacker: Shane Jones (Penncrest). Defensive Back: Josh Lafferty (Haverford). Specialist: Shane Breckenridge (Penncrest).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Christoff Minott (Upper Darby); Brandon DiChiacchio (Springfield). Running Back: Malik Young (Ridley); Jack Horvath (Radnor); Ryan Kinnard (Penncrest); John Batipps (Penncrest); Jake Buttermore (Garnet Valley); Evan Tannenbaum (Conestoga); Abel Hoff (Marple Newtown). Receiver: Bob McClure (Haverford). Offensive Line: Matt Cipolloni (Ridley); Colin Bradley (Radnor); Jake Buchanan (Penncrest); James King (Upper Darby); Matt Cella (Springfield); Luke Lozowicki (Marple Newtown). Defensive Line: Isaiah Coates (Radnor); Griff Monaghan (Radnor); Rob Monachello (Garnet Valley); Tim Bradley (Garnet Valley); Joe Thomas (Garnet Valley); Brendan Granahan (Garnet Valley); Shawn Page (Upper Darby); Derrick Korboi (Upper Darby); Dennis Spaventa (Haverford); Nick Gorman (Springfield); Justin Shields (Springfield); Antonio Petril (Ridley). Linebacker: Matt McKee (Marple Newtown); Gino DiCamillo (Marple Newtown); Dario Falcone (Radnor);Shane Donegan (Garnet Valley); Scott Mellot (Upper Darby); Bill Farrell (Upper Darby); Tom Becker (Springfield); Ronan Carter (Conestoga); Pete Jean (Conestoga); Ryan Schneider (Marple Newtown); Defensive Back: Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown); Zack Kaut (Penncrest); Calvin Fielding (Upper Darby); Naiqjuan McKenzie (Upper Darby); Prosper Saydee (Upper Darby); Jack Thomas (Harriton); Dondre Ross (Conestoga). Specialist: Pat Hughes (Penncrest); Joe Hagarty (Penncrest); Reilly Fillman (Marple Newtown); George Lambritsios (Marple Newtown).

Del Val League

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Taylor Moors (Academy Park). Running Back: Kevin Miller. Receiver: Jawan Collins (Academy Park). Offensive Line: Brandon Tynes (Interboro). Defensive Line: Toga Porte (Academy Park). Linebacker: Arlo Lee (Chester). Defensive Back: Teddy Wright (Academy Park). Specialist: Jaquan Flood (Chester).

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Clarence Bowens (Chichester); Javon Thomas (Glen Mills); Nyhmir Matthews (Chester); Danny Mea (Interboro). Running Back: Quadir Gibson (Glen Mills); Cody Profitt (Chichester); Jahmad Lockett (Chichester); Chris Hummel (Interboro); Lamar Shaw (Interboro); Jermaine Wesley (Academy Park). Receiver: Martin Frempong (Chichester); Ray Argo (Chichester); Shymere Stroud (Academy Park); Daquan Dantzler (Glen Mills); Chase Pattinson (Interboro). Offensive Line: Andrew Wilson (Chichester); Serge Filipskiy (Chichester); Hunter Thornton (Chichester); Eric Weah (Chichester); Jake Lancianese (Chichester); Demond Hardy (Chester); Cameron Brooks (Interboro); Mike McMillan (Interboro); Chris Thomas (Academy Park); Marion Holmes (Academy Park); Nykeal Jalloh (Academy Park). Defensive Line: Serge Filipskiy (Chichester); Maurice Martin (Chichester); Shaquan Cobb (Chichester); Umar DeGraphenreed (Chester); D’Andre Dill (Chester); Steve Royer (Interboro); Matt O’Chuida (Interboro). Linebacker: Greg Allman (Chichester); Brion McNear (Chichester); Jahmad Lockett (Chichester); Hunter Thornton (Chichester); Danny Mea (Interboro); Dazhon Miller (Academy Park). Defensive Back: Javon Lindsey-Terrell (Penn Wood); Chris Hummel (Interboro); Connor Adams (Interboro). Specialist: Cornell Suber (Academy Park); Austin Wilson (Chichester).

Independent Schools

Players of the Week >> Quarterback: Tommy O’Hara (Cardinal O’Hara). Running Back: Dee Barlee (Episcopal Academy). Wide Receiver: Jack Gibson (Cardinal O’Hara). Offensive Line: Lou Lombardo and Tim Klingerman (Bonner-Prendergast). Defensive Line: Dallas Taylor (Episcopal Academy) and Stephen Mitchell (Delco Christian). Linebacker: Jake Martellucci (Episcopal Academy). Defensive Back: Shaun Douglas (Bonner-Prendergast). Specialist: None.

Honorable Mention >> Quarterback: Evan Raiburn (Bonner-Prendergast); Devin Hill (Delco Christian); Gabe Boccella (Sun Valley). Running Back: Ryan Taylor (Cardinal O’Hara); Amir Dorsey (Delco Christian); Nazim Trammell-Wells (Delco Christian); Joe Hartley-Vittoria (Bonner-Prendergast); Quentin West (Sun Valley); Jon Kester (Sun Valley). Receiver: Jordan Mosley (Bonner-Prendergast); Kyle Virbitsky (Episcopal Academy). Offensive Line: Des Holmes (Cardinal O’Hara); Colin Hickey (Cardinal O’Hara); James Bagnell (Episcopal Academy); Harry Riley (Episcopal Academy); Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian), Bobby Koons (Sun Valley); Logan Markley (Sun Valley). Linebacker: Ryan George (Bonner-Prendergast); Jack Grim (Delco Christian). Defensive Back: Justin Santilla (Cardinal O’Hara). Specialist: None.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply