Methacton, Boyertown, Spring-Ford earn PAC-10 wins

Shuajb Nuredini is the lone senior on the youthful Methacton wrestling team this season. The regular 195-pounder was honored on Senior Night Wednesday evening during a home Pioneer Athletic Conference match against Phoenixville.

In order to draw a match on his special night, Nuredini had to drink a lot of water to gain weight the past two days. Phoenixville has forfeits at 195 pounds and 220, so Nuredini had to step up and battle the Phantoms’ heavyweight, 287-pound senior David Rosati.

Nuredini led 1-0 in the second period, but he eventually got caught in a roll for a third-period pin. Still, the Warriors were able to prevail against the Phantoms, 41-39, to help celebrate Senior Night for Methacton (2-5, 6-7).

“Tonight is about Shuajb,” said Methacton coach A.J. Maida. “He wrestles 195, but last night he gained enough weight to make 220. He bypassed that and gave up 90 pounds. That is the kind of kid and leader he is. Shuajb has given us that all year. He is new to the sport. He came out as a freshman. He has no long history in the sport. He really does a tremendous job.”

Nuredini now has a 7-8 record on the season. Rosati is 14-9 with eight falls.

The match still boiled down to the final matchup between freshmen Bryce Thompson of Phoenixville and Patrick Maloney of Methacton with the Warriors holding a 41-36 lead. Maloney avoided the pin while dropping an 8-3 decision to Thompson as Methacton held on for the team victory.

Each side won seven bouts on the card in the even matchup. Phoenixville (1-6, 8-11) recorded five falls to three by Methacton. The Warriors accepted three forfeits to one for Phoenixville. The encounter was tied at 12, 18 and 24 before Methacton pulled ahead to stay.

Cameron George (113), Bryce Reddington (132) and Brendan Marion (160) scored falls for the Warriors while Dylan Henry (138) notched a technical fall. Connor Sullivan (195), Thomas McGowan (220) and Kyle Fleming (145) received forfeits.

For Phoenixville, Rosati was joined in the pin column by Max Shepherd (106), DuJuan Serrette-Davis (120), Trey Romance (152) and Tanner Romance (170). Elkanah Anderson (126) won by forfeit.

Shepherd upped his record to 18-1 with eight pins. Trey Romance is 15-1 with 11 falls. Tanner Romance is 10-4 with five falls.

“I thought if we had our chances, we would be all right,” said Phoenixville first-year head coach Alec Bown. “We figured out late that we can beat some of these teams after the match. We need to be confident before we wrestle. We were limited. We didn’t have too many options. It was a good match.”

Methacton 41

Phoenixville 39

195-Connor Sullivan (Me) won by forfeit (6-0)

220-Thomas McGowan (Me) won by forfeit (12-0)

285-David Rosati (Px) pinned Shuajb Nuredini, 4:14 (12-6)

106-Max Shepherd (Px) pinned Cory Blue, 2:44 (12-12)

113-Cameron George (Me) pinned Mohamed Boukar, :15 (18-12)

120-DuJuan Serrette-Davis (Px) pinned Gage Gelband, 4:14 (18-18)

126-Elkanah Anderson (Px) won by forfeit (18-24)

132-Bryce Reddington (Me) pinned Anthony Davido, 1:35 (24-24)

138-Dylan Henry won by technical fall over Tom Hammaker, 5:15 (29-24)

145-Kyle Fleming (Me) won by forfeit (35-24)

152-Trey Romance (Px) pinned Steven Denner, 4:44 (35-30)

160-Brendan Marion (Me) pinned Corey Washington, 2:42 (41-30)

170-Tanner Romance (Px) pinned Michael Gradweell, 1:02 (41-36)

182-Bryce Thompson (Px) dec. Patrick Maloney, 8-3 (41-39)

Boyertown 60, Pottstown 7: The Bears handily defeated Pottstown Wednesday night to remain undefeated in PAC-10 play this season.

Reuben Maldonado (170), Will Scholl (182), Brody O’Connell (220) and Collin Patterson (285) all posted pins for Boyertown (8-0) while Lucas Miller (132) won his bout 4-3, Chris Berry (138) won 4-3, Elijah Jones (152) won 7-2 and Dylan Wertz (160) won 5-1. Matt Wilde (106), David Campbell (113), Garrett Mauger (126) and Gregg Harvey (195) won by forfeit. For the Trojans (2-3), Mason Pennypacker (145) won by major decision 12-3, while Nathanael Parson (120) won 2-0.

106-Matt Wilde (Bt) won by forfeit (6-0)

113-David Campbell (Bt) won by forfeit (12-0)

120-Nathanael Parson (Pt) dec. Dominic DeRafelo, 2-0 (12-3)

126-Garrett Mauger (Bt) won by forfeit (18-3)

132-Lucas Miller (Bt) dec. Logan Pennypacker, 4-3 (21-3)

138-Chris Berry (Bt) dec. Bryant Wise, 4-3 (24-3)

145-Mason Pennypacker (Pt) dec. Hunter Vogels, 12-3 (24-7)

152-Elijah Jones (Bt) dec. Saddiq Ibn-Mustafah, 7-2 (27-7)

160-Dylan Wertz (Bt) dec. Isaiah Mayes, 5-1 (30-7)

170-Reuben Maldonado (Bt) pinned Ernest McCalvin, 3:47 (36-7)

182-Will Scholl (Bt) pinned Nyles Rome, 2:24 (42-7)

195-Gregg Harvey (Bt) won by forfeit (48-7)

220-Brody O’Connell (Bt) pinned Alex Humma, 5:36 (54-7)

285-Collin Patterson (Bt) pinned Ray Bumbarger, 2:51 (60-7)

Spring-Ford 63, Perkiomen Valley 3: The Rams were bolstered by five pins and two technical falls as they rolled over the Vikings in PAC-10 action.

Spring-Ford (7-1, 18-1) got falls from Jimmy Frank (113), Ryan Hayes (120), Hunter Mitch (126), Matt Kriebel (138) and Frankie Krauss (145) as well as the five-point verdicts of Brandon Meredith (106) and Jonathan Westlake (132). PV got its lone points from Alex Michener at 285.

220-Tim Rudderow (SF) won by forfeit (6-0)

285-Alex Michener (PV) dec. Matt Lapore, 3-0 (6-3)

106-Brandon Meredith (SF) won by technical fall over Cody Jefferies, time NA (11-3)

113-Jimmy Frank (SF) pinned Vinnie Goncalves, time NA (17-3)

120-Ryan Hayes (SF) pinned Jake Latchum, time NA (23-3)

126-Hunter Mitch (SF) pinned Michael Kelley, time NA (29-3)

132-Johnathan Westlake (SF) won by technical fall over Justin Godley, time NA (34-3)

138-Matt Kriebel (SF) pinned Drew Rowley, time NA, (40-3)

145-Nick Beauchamp (SF) dec. Quinn Verbeke, 5-3 (43-3)

152-Jon Cooper (SF) dec. Kevin Lovett, 10-3 (46-3)

160-Frankie Krauss (SF) pinned Kareem Elghawy, time NA (52-3)

170-Steve Rice (SF) won by forfeit (58-3)

182-Ryan Yanulevich (SF) dec. Omar Elghawy, 1-0 (61-3)

195-Brendan Zimmie (SF) dec. Alec DellaDonna, 13-6 (63-3)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply