Connect with us

Villa Maria Academy

Diamond gems: Presenting 2017 All-Main Line softball teams

The 2017 Main Line high school softball season featured many fine performances from our area teams. Haverford High School captured the Central League championship, and Villa Maria Academy captured the Athletic Association of Catholic Academies League title and advanced to the PIAA District One Class 4A championship game. Archbishop Carroll, Shipley School, Academy of Notre Dame and Episcopal Academy also completed fine seasons.
The All-Main Line high school softball teams are selected by the coaches. Because Main Line Media News covers 19 high schools, the Main Line Media News sports staff limits the number of sports available to first team, second team and honorable mention – but follows the priority of the coaches’ selections.
What follows are the 2017 All-Main Line high school softball teams:

Grace Jackson, Academy of Notre Dame – Freshman pitcher, an All-Inter-Ac first team selection, posted an ERA of 0.89 in 118 innings pitched, striking out 196 batters. Batted .600 with .683 on-base percentage and scored 42 runs.
Sophia Marlino, Academy of Notre Dame – Junior shortstop/catcher and captain, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection for the third year, had 47 RBI’s in 26 games with 30 runs scored and 15 extra-base hits, including five home runs, for a slugging percentage of .803. Also, and National Fastpitch Coaches association Academic All-American for the third straight year.
Michala Maciolek, Agnes Irwin – Senior catcher, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, batted .574 with a .957 slugging percentage, 22 runs scored and 16 stolen bases. The Owls’ MVP was noted for her outstanding arm behind the plate and fine leadership. Will continue her softball career at Syracuse University.
Mary Clare Boyle, Archbishop Carroll – Junior third baseman/pitcher batted .538 with an on-base percentage of .667 and an OPS of 1.282, scoring nine runs. On the mound, posted 1.38 ERA in 76 innings pitched, allowing only 44 hits and 12 walks.
Clair Boylan, Archbishop Carroll – Junior shortstop batted .625, with an on-base percentage of .750, scoring a team-leading 13 runs. Received first team All-Catholic League honors.
Samantha Martin, Baldwin School – Junior shortstop was unanimous first team All-Inter-Ac selection, batting .442 with slugging percentage of .865 and OPS of 1.365. Cracked nine doubles, two triples and two home runs, with 17 RBI’s in 15 games and 14 runs scored.
Maddie Loughead, Episcopal Academy – Sophomore third baseman, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, was a powerful hitter, with 36 hits in 64 at bats, including eight doubles, seven triples and four home runs. Considered the best baserunner on the team, she is noted for her fine defensive work and heads-up play.
Ariana Feliziani, Episcopal Academy – Senior center fielder and captain, a first team All-Inter-Ac selection, had 28 hits (including seven triples) and 11 stolen bases. Noted for her timely hitting, strong arm, smart baserunning, heads-up play and matchless work ethic.
Sonia Groeneveld, Harriton – Senior pitcher/outfielder batted .400 with seven extra base hits, scored 16 runs, and provided strong pitching during each of the Rams’ seven wins.
Heather Lazer, Haverford High – Senior pitcher/shortstop/third baseman/first baseman, the All-Delco Player of the Year, was a first team All-Central League selection and Fords’ MVP for the third straight year. Had 36 hits (including seven doubles and nine triples), batting .480 with a slugging percentage of .813. Had 12 RBI’s from the leadoff spot.
Ali Murphy, Haverford High – Sophomore center fielder, a first team All-Central League selection (she had the most votes for an outfielder in the league), was the Fords’ Defensive Player of the Year. “She’s the best outfielder I ever coached,” said Haverford coach Bill Whitney. Batted .519 from the No. 2 spot in the batting order, and was noted for her outstanding speed and base running ability.
Brooke Nicander, Radnor – Senior pitcher and captain was Red Raiders’ MVP, batting .362 from the No. 3 spot with 21 hits, 15 RBI’s and 11 runs scored. Has accumulated 30 career wins on the mound for Radnor, as the team’s primary pitcher for the past three years.
Chrissy Wentz, Shipley – Senior shortstop, pitcher and captain was Gators’ MVP and a first team All-Friends School League selection. Batted .707 with six home runs, 39 RBI’s, 27 runs scored, a 1.630 slugging percentage and 11 stolen bases. Will play softball for Ursinus College.
Liz Durham, Shipley – Hard-hitting senior catcher and captain, a first team All-Friends’ School League selection, provided strong leadership and all-around standout play from behind the plate and offensively, batting .500, with a .583 on-base percentage.
Alyssa Viscardo, Villa Maria Academy – Sophomore pitcher was Hurricanes’ co-MVP, striking out 165 batters in 133 innings pitched, while posting a 2.10 ERA. An AACA all-star, she also was a strong, run-producing hitter, batting .317 with 14 RBI’s.
Bri Wright, Villa Maria Academy – Senior second baseman was Hurricanes’ co-MVP and an AACA all-star, batting .338 with 21 RBI’s and 15 runs scored. Was a slick fielder at the keystone position, recording 48 putouts.

Academy of Notre Dame – Caroline Adams, freshman outfielder/pitcher; Michele Bilotta, junior first baseman; Marissa Mycek, junior shortstop/third baseman; Anita Bilotta, junior catcher/third baseman.
Agnes Irwin – Paige DiLullo, sophomore pitcher.
Archbishop Carroll – Jess Redding, senior second baseman; Abby Wick, junior catcher.
Baldwin School – Angela Smith, senior third baseman.
Conestoga – Olivia Cepielik, sophomore shortstop; Rachel Lopez, junior second baseman.
Episcopal Academy – Belle Volatile, freshman pitcher/middle infielder; Reilly Wright, senior shortstop.
Friends’ Central – Olivia Bartholomew, senior pitcher.
Harriton – Anna Walsh, sophomore shortstop.
Haverford High – Lindsay Moran, senior left fielder; Madison Lane, senior shortstop; Gabrielle Gentile, senior pitcher.
Merion Mercy Academy – Leah McCray, junior center fielder/left fielder.
Radnor – Audrey Rosenblum, sophomore shortsop; Sydney Aljian, senior second baseman.
Shipley – Sophie Webber, senior pitcher.
Villa Maria Academy – Ana Ciarrocchi, sophomore left fiekder; Fran Delviscio, sophomore third baseman; Riley Miller, sophomore center fielder.

Academy of Notre Dame – Erin Mahoney, junior second baseman.
Agnes Irwin – Rajaa Wilcox, junior shortstop.
Archbishop Carroll – Erin Gibbons, junior center fielder; Maggie Delaney, junior infielder.
Conestoga – Emme Rycyzyn, sophomore catcher; Lauren Lofland, freshman pitcher.
Episcopal Academy – Brooke Royer, senior catcher.
Friends’ Central – Maddie McDonnell, senior third baseman.
Harriton – Julia Ermi, sophomore catcher; Kiley Marsh, sophomore third baseman.
Lower Merion – Jessie Epstein, senior shortstop; Hannah Charlson, sophomore pitcher; Kylie Pacchione, freshman third baseman.
Radnor – Grace Moore, senior first baseman; Sarah Rosenblum, senior outfielder.
Villa Maria Academy – Elisabeth D’Ascenzo, sophomore first baseman; Marissa Bruder, junior shortstop.

(Note: Barrack Hebrew Academy did not submit a nomination ballot.)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Villa Maria Academy