Connect with us


Chester’s Freeman earns Del Val League MVP nod

HAVERFORD >> Devan Freeman came close to eclipsing the 200-yard rushing mark in a 38-20 nonleague victory against Overbrook last Saturday.

The Chester tailback finished with 192 yards and two touchdown scampers as the Clippers improved to 2-2 with a come-from-behind win.

For his efforts, Freeman was selected MVP of the Del Val League at Monday night’s meeting of the Delaware County Coaches Association at Barnaby’s of Havertown.

The independent school coaches gave their weekly MVP award to Sun Valley’s Ishy Ahmad. The senior wide receiver had eight catches for 110 yards and two touchdowns as the Vanguards defeated Oxford, 19-14, to stay unbeaten in 2016. Ahmad also had a key punt return of 40 yards in the fourth quarter.

Haverford High receiver Jordan Mosley had a game to remember in the Fords’ 28-0 victory over Penncrest. Mosley recorded nine catches for 213 yards and three touchdowns, setting a school record for most receiving yards in a game. His performance earned him Central League MVP honors.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Anthony Paoletti (Marple Newtown). Running Back: Malik Young (Ridley). Receiver: Jordan Mosley (Haverford). Offensive Line: Leo Teti-Cassidy (Ridley). Defensive Line: Nick Dilorio (Haverford). Linebacker: Jack Farrell (Haverford) and Ryan Gricco (Ridley). Defensive Back: Allen Martin (Ridley). Specialist: Jason Rose (Garnet Valley).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Jake Ruane (Haverford); Cade Stratton (Ridley); Nate Rimel (Upper Darby). Running Back: Matt Lassik (Garnet Valley); Drew Maiers (Garnet Valley); Austin Patton (Garnet Valley); Ociele Miller (Ridley); Brock Anderson (Ridley); Tahj McCafferty (Ridley); Marlon Weathers (Marple Newtown); Jack Fallows (Marple Newtown). Receiver: Chris Trainor (Haverford); Thomas Foster (Strath Haven); Dash Dulgerian (Marple Newtown); Cameron Mathes (Marple Newtown); Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown); Ian Goodman (Lower Merion); Joe Kennedy (Springfield). Offensive Line: John Sheldon (Ridley); Jack Hutt (Ridley); Anthony Goodman (Marple Newtown). Defensive Line: John Harrar (Strath Haven); Mike Goolsby (Penncrest); Joe Thomas (Garnet Valley); Mac McClenahan (Garnet Valley); Joe Spillman (Ridley); Nick DePrinzio (Ridley); Liam McCall (Radnor); Mike Miller (Marple Newtown); Cooper Maas (Marple Newtown); Kyle Tobin (Marple Newtown); Justin Shields (Springfield); Derek Strain (Springfield); Kevin Deal (Springfield); Derrick Korbi (Upper Darby). Linebacker: Harry Thomas (Harriton); Mike Romanofsky (Haverford); Ryan Morris (Strath Haven); Shane Jones (Penncrest); Charlie Coslett (Garnet Valley); Sean Crowley (Ridley); Zack Wade (Radnor); Charlie Connolly (Radnor); Kyle Addis (Radnor); Matt McCue (Radnor); AJ Katrakazis (Radnor); Pat Clemens (Springfield). Defensive Back: Jack Thomas (Harriton); Corey Hunt (Haverford); Tucker Ballbach (Radnor); Cameron Mathes (Marple Newtown); Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown); Isaiah McClain (Upper Darby). Specialist: Jeremy Lauer (Garnet Valley); Kyran Baker (Ridley); Brock Anderson (Ridley); Reilly Fillman (Marple Newtown); Jack Coary (Springfield);

Del Val League

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Javon Lindsey-Terrell (Penn Wood). Running Back: Devan Freeman (Chester). Receiver: Rahiem Bowens (Penn Wood). Offensive Line: Mike McMillan (Interboro). Defensive Line: Togba Porte (Academy Park). Linebacker: Jeremiah Jefferson (Glen Mills). Defensive Back: Matt DiSands (Interboro) and Jhalil Karen (Chester). Specialist: Keon Rantin (Glen Mills).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Jamir Green (Chester); Nate Murtha (Interboro); James Timmons (Glen Mills). Running Back: Teddy Wright (Academy Park); Dazhon Miller (Academy Park); Chris Thomas (Interboro); Kalie Kuyateh (Interboro); Blaine Lewis-Thompson (Chichester); Greg Allman (Chichester). Receiver: Kareem Burton (Academy Park); Bobby Kemper (Academy Park); Kennedy Poles (Penn Wood). Offensive Line: Jaion Smith (Academy Park); Billy Martin (Academy Park); Demond Hardy Jr. (Chester); Quentin Frangelli (Interboro); Manny Obaseime (Interboro); Cam Brooks (Interboro); Eric Weah (Chichester); Mike Rinick (Chichester); Naquan Johnson (Chichester). Defensive Line: Amara Kenneth (Academy Park); Kasai Crawford (Academy Park); Dajuan Watson (Chester); Kenny Ngaima (Penn Wood); Tyquan Brodie (Penn Wood); Omar Smith (Chichester). Linebacker: Elijah Berryman (Academy Park); Teddy Wright (Academy Park); George Johnson (Chester); Kalie Kuyath (Interboro); Chris Thomas (Interboro); Alijah Stevens (Penn Wood); Edward Fields (Penn Wood); Cody Profitt (Chichester). Defensive Back: Jermal Martin (Academy Park); Connor Adams (Interboro); Edmund Dennis (Penn Wood). Specialist: Colin Ravert (Interboro).


PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Tommy Toal (Haverford School). Running Back: Deewil Barlee (Episcopal Academy). Receiver: Ishy Ahmad (Sun Valley). Offensive Line: Adam Klein (Episcopal Academy). Defensive Line: Stephon Brown (Cardinal O’Hara). Linebacker: Tyric Gould (Cardinal O’Hara). Defensive Back: Greg Natale (Archbishop Carroll). Specialist: Connor Ringwalt (Episcopal Academy).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Tommy O’Hara (Cardinal O’Hara); Gabe Boccella (Sun Valley); Evan Raiburn (Bonner & Prendergast). Running Back: Myles Henderson (Cardinal O’Hara); Te’Ron Johnson (Cardinal O’Hara); Mallik Twyman (Haverford School); Jon’avin Freeman (Episcopal Academy). Receiver: Justin Santilla (Cardinal O’Hara); Bryce Broadus (Haverford School); Alex Coll (Bonner & Prendergast). Offensive Line: Des Holmes (Cardinal O’Hara); Tom Wertz (Cardinal O’Hara); John Kearney (Archbishop Carroll); Pete Solomon (Haverford School); Christian Arakelian (Haverford School); Harry Riley (Episcopal Academy); Kevin Zimmerman (Bonner & Prendergast). Defensive Line: Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian); Colin Hickey (Cardinal O’Hara): Tom Wertz (Cardinal O’Hara); Zahir Glenn (Archbishop Carroll); Asim Richards (Haverford School); Kyle Virbitsky (Episcopal Academy); Sean Morris (Bonner & Prendergast). Linebacker: Shawn Harmon (Bonner & Prendergast); Luke Gutowski (Delco Christian); Stef Borcky (Cardinal O’Hara); Jamir Green (Cardinal O’Hara); Brian Snow (Episcopal Academy); James Gines (Sun Valley); Graham Haabestad (Haverford School). Defensive Back: Nate Whitaker (Haverford School); Chris Rushton (Episcopal Academy); Mike Windsor (Sun Valley); Brandon Bettole (Bonner & Prendergast); Tom Millison (Bonner & Prendergast). Specialist: Jay Smiley (Archbishop Carroll).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Football