Connect with us

Inter-Academic League

Haverford School honors top athletes at awards ceremony

John Nostrant, Director of Athletics, presents junior Jack Denious with The James “Kip” Taviano ‘13 Memorial Locker and Pin.

Haverford >> Seven scholar-athletes received major sports honors during the fourth annual Haverford School Athletics Awards Ceremony.
Haverford School seniors Bryan Hyland and Will McDevitt received The Tyler L. Groseclose III ’69 Captain’s Cup, which is awarded annually to that captain of a varsity sport whose leadership, ability, and enthusiasm has been an inspiration to his teammates and to the School.
The J. Sanders Haas ’41 Trophy was awarded to junior James Ives. It is given to the outstanding manager of any Haverford school athletic team.
The Charles J. Rainear II ’34 Memorial Shield is awarded annually to the best all-around athlete. The recipient was senior Tommy Toal.
Anthony Calvelli and Aaron Hudson received The John J. Gallagher Jr. ’69 Athletic Achievement and Spirit Award, which is presented to that senior who, in the eyes of his coaches, possesses many of the same qualities as John J. Gallagher ’69 who lettered in football, basketball, and lacrosse, and who was an inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame member. The recipient is a three-sport athlete and a gracious winner who achieves success with humility and who embodies Gallagher’s qualities of perseverance, leadership, team play, and commitment to excellence.
Haverford School junior Jack Denious received The James “Kip” Taviano ’13 Memorial Locker, which is awarded each year to the rising senior student-athlete who best personifies the characteristics that Kip embodied: sportsmanship, friendliness, humor, loyalty, dedication, heart, and compassion for his teammates and others.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent News

More in Inter-Academic League