Connect with us


RBs Weathers, Twyman take weekly awards

Marple Newtown’s high-octane offense is predicated upon a passing game that ranks tops in Delaware County.

But as the Tigers showed in Week 10’s victory over Strath Haven, which earned them a share of the Central League (and their first since 1977), they can do plenty of damage with their rushing attack, too.

Marlon Weathers hasn’t had many chances to shine this season, but make no mistake he’s one of the top running backs in the conference. Weathers had a big hand in helping the Tigers clinch a piece of the Central League title as he exploded for a career-high 260 yards and two touchdowns.  For his efforts, Weathers was selected Central League MVP of the week at the Delco Coaches Association meeting,

Mallik Twyman also enjoyed a career performance for The Haverford School in a 52-27 shellacking of Springside Chestnut Hill Academy. The Colgate-bound running back accounted for six touchdowns and 288 total yards of offense as the Fords rebounded from last week’s loss to Malvern. Twyman’s huge day earned him player of the week honors by the independent school coaches.

The Del Val League did not issue weekly honors for Week 10.

Other weekly honors went to:

Central League

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Anthony Paoletti (Marple Newtown). Running Back: Marlon Weathers (Marple Newtown). Receiver: Dash Dulgerian (Marple Newtown). Offensive Line: Kevin Hahn (Marple Newtown). Defensive Line: Cooper Maas (Marple Newtown). Linebacker: Mike Romanofsky (Haverford). Defensive Back: Malik Young (Ridley). Specialist: Reilly Fillman (Marple Newtown).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Jack Rosenfeld (Harriton); Matt O’Connor (Lower Merion); Cade Stratton (Ridley); Pat McDermott (Radnor). Running Back: Hunter Mazur (Strath Haven); Brock Anderson (Ridley); Malik Young (Ridley); Jason Patton (Garnet Valley); Austin Patton (Garnet Valley); Ja’Den McKenzie (Springfield). Receiver: Davon Tate (Lower Merion); Liam Wright (Ridley); Cameron Mathes (Marple Newtown); Kyle Addis (Radnor); Charlie Connolly (Radnor); Chris Trainor (Haverford); Joe Kennedy (Springfield). Offensive Line: Justin Wootton (Lower Merion); John Sheldon (Ridley); Zach Wagner (Ridley); Jack Hutt (Ridley); James Diamond (Marple Newtown); Mike Shelly (Marple Newtown); Luke Zimmerman (Marple Newtown); Anthony Goodman (Marple Newtown); Matt Rigolizzo (Radnor); Alex Yao (Garnet Valley). Defensive Line: Will Thomas (Harriton); Conner Moretti (Penncrest); John Harrar (Strath Haven); Sean Crowley (Ridley); Nick DePrinzio (Ridley); Kyle Tobin (Marple Newtown); Mike Miller (Marple Newtown); Joaquin Hollero (Radnor); Aidan Bermudez (Radnor); Chad Hrivnak (Garnet Valley); Rob Monachello (Garnet Valley); Joe Thomas (Garnet Valley); Ronan Carter (Conestoga); Paul Pelham (Conestoga); Justin Shields (Springfield); Kevin Deal (Springfield). Linebacker: Jack Rosenfeld (Harriton); Harry Thomas (Harriton); Elijah Smith (Lower Merion); Ryan Morris (Strath Haven); Shane Jones (Penncrest); Ryan Gricco (Ridley); Greg Kimmel (Ridley); Zach Wade (Radnor); Charlie Coslett (Garnet Valley); Jack Farrell (Haverford); Jordan Mosley (Haverford); Jackson Niness (Conestoga); Jake Irvine (Conestoga); Pat Clemens (Springfield); Anthony Divario (Springfield). Defensive Back: Jack Thomas (Harriton); Ociele Miller (Ridley); Carmen Christiana (Marple Newtown); Sam Rudolph (Garnet Valley); Peyton Jones (Conestoga). Specialist: Kyran Baker (Ridley); Sean Cannon (Haverford).

Independent Schools

PLAYERS OF THE WEEK >> Quarterback: Stephen Honick (Archbishop Carroll) and Tommy Toal (Haverford School). Running Back: Mallik Twyman (Haverford School). Receiver: Mallik Twyman (Haverford School). Offensive Line: Pete Solomon (Haverford School). Defensive Line: None. Linebacker: None. Defensive Back: Khadir Roberts (Archbishop Carroll). Specialist: Brendan Skwirut (Sun Valley).

HONORABLE MENTION >> Quarterback: Tommy O’Hara (Cardinal O’Hara); Jon’Avin Freeman (Episcopal Academy); Gabe Boccella (Sun Valley). Running Back: Christian Smith (Archbishop Carroll); Dee Wil Barlee (Episcopal Academy); Receiver: Dahmir Ruffin (Archbishop Carroll); Roman Davis (Archbishop Carroll); Justin Santilla (Cardinal O’Hara); Derrick Patrick (Cardinal O’Hara); Chris Kirby (Cardinal O’Hara); Shane Conlin (Episcopal Academy); Will Towle (Haverford School); Asim Richards (Haverford School). Offensive Line: John Kearny (Archbishop Carroll); Christian Arakelian (Haverford School); Defensive Line: Colin Hurlbrink (Haverford School); Malik Geather (Haverford School). Linebacker: None. Defensive Back: Quentin West (Sun Valley). Specialist: None.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent News

More in Football