Connect with us

Boys Cross Country

Haverford School wins Inter-Ac League title

Khalil Bland did not win the Inter-Ac League boys individual cross country title Monday at Belmont Plateau. The sophomore from The Haverford School did not even place in the top 15.

Bland finished 17th, but that’s just what the Fords needed to win their first Inter-Ac League title since 2001.

Bland was the team’s fifth runner across the finish line and that was enough to give the Fords a 58-63 victory over archrival Episcopal Academy. Senior Anthony Calvelli placed fifth to lead the Fords. Junior Will Merhige (ninth) and seniors Nick Magnani (12th) and Taj Bland (15th) were the other runners that scored for The Haverford School.

Elias Lindgren finished fourth to lead Episcopal Academy. Philip Tobar (10th), Carson Fischer (13th) and Nick Horbowy (14th) also placed in the top 15 for the Churchmen.

Peter Borger of Malvern Prep won the individual title with a time of 17 minutes, 14.30 seconds.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent News

More in Boys Cross Country